Jumble Spoiler – 05/31/21

Iwo Jima Monument at the Marine Military Academy

Visual Description:  Statue re-enacting the Iwo Jima flag raising!

MUYYM  =  YUMMY,  VLONE  =  NOVEL,  WHROTN  =  THROWN,  RZLIAE  =  LAZIER   —   Giving us:  UMMNOTNLAE

Clue/Question:  Felix de Weldon’s effort to create the Marine Corps War Memorial was – – –

Amazon.com: Iwo Jima, Marine Corp Memorial, Washington DC, Statue, Magnet 2  x 3 Photo Fridge Magnet: Kitchen & Dining

Answer:  MONUMENTAL

(My Dad was a Marine.  He served before I was born, but once a Marine always a Marine!  At least that’s most of them say.  I never heard my Dad say that though.  I remember he had a desktop replica of the flag raising in the bar of our basement den.  The base was black, and the Marines were bronze.  I remember it being pretty heavy.  I use to tell my friends that my Dad was one of those Marines!  Of course he was just a kid in WWII, so there was no way he was there.  He served at the tail end of the Korean Conflict, and – thankfully – he never had to leave stateside.  He took it with him after my parents divorced.  He’s been gone over fifteen years now.  I have to ask my aunts whatever happened to it.  Maybe one of them have it.  Possibly my brother.

It’s looking like we have a new clue word today in “yummy”.  It’s possible we saw it on some Sunday in the past, but I couldn’t swear to it.  All of the jumbles appear to be new!  I started writing REalize, before I . . . realized there was only one E!  The answer letter layout was a tidy ten letter jumble.  But it couldn’t hide the final answer.

Fine cartoon of of the creation of the Marine Corps War Memorial, back in 1954.  My parents were married about a year by then, and my Dad was still in the Marines.  I think he got out in late ’54, or early ’55.  Great Memorial Day Jumble!  I hope you all had a respectful Memorial Day, folks.  Be well and do good.)   —   YUR

Images courtesy of Google

Happy birthday to Peter Yarrow, of Peter, Paul and Mary!

2 comments

  1. Unc, wish your father “Semper Fi !”

    It doesn’t matter where he is now… he’ll still hear you.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.