Jumble Solved – 02/01/23

Best Gingerbread Men Cookies Recipe

Visual Description:  Run, run, run, as fast as you can!

ESEGE  =  GEESE,  LATPN  =  PLANT,  SBLUIY  =  BUSILY,  GLIRCA  =  GARLIC   —   Giving us:  GELNIYGR

Clue/Question:  When the fairy-tale cookie men shook hands, they did it – – –

Gingerbread man song | Leal Elementary School

Answer:  GINGERLY

(A wonderful, good smelling pun!  Fresh out of the oven.  I love gingerbread man/woman cookies.  I also love ginger snaps.  Not as much as molasses cookies, but they’re both a nice change of pace from the chocolate cookies I usually go for.  When I was a kid, my Mom used to bake a fine gingerbread cake!  It was really great.  She would always serve it warm, with a dollop of whipped cream.  Real, homemade whipped cream too!  SO good!  She also baked a chocolate upside down cake that was to die for.  She got the recipe from my Gramma, who got it from her friend, Emily.  The recipe calls it “Em’s Glop”!  So rich and decadent.  And, of course, that was also served with homemade whipped cream.  I used to bake when I was a teen, and I have the recipe, but I’ve never made it myself.

Old reliable clue words today.  Two of the jumbles are coming up as new, but we’ve definitely seen both “esege” and “latpn” in previous Jumbles.  They all came quickly.  The answer letter layout was great eight letter jumble.  But I saw the final answer very quickly.

Fun cartoon of a couple of bakers admiring their creations.  I think with the gingerbread men it’s less about crumbs, and more about breakage!  Especially when they’re a little over-baked, they can be pretty brittle.  I remember story time on the old “Captain Kangaroo” show.  One of the stories was “The Gingerbread Man”.  That show was so wholesome and educational, long before “Sesame Street” ever came along.  These Jumbles can be the catalysts to some great memories!  Be well and do good, friends.     YUR

Images courtesy of Google

2 comments

  1. Captain Kangaroo? Yikes Unc, was it in Technicolor ™️? That looks like a long long long time ago. I do remember Sesame Street and Electric Company. My kids liked The Wiggles, Thomas the Train, Caillou, Barney ets…. My daughter loves ginger, my son not so much. My favorite Ginger is the one from Gillian’s Island, the lone survivor from the series. Tina Louise will be 89 next week. The age old question was always: Ginger or Maryann. My pick was Ginger every time. How about you Unc?

    Speaking of washed up, the Professors over there 👉 stranded 21 castaways y’day, only nine from Mrs. Howell (.429) 🙋🏻‍♀️ Lovie!

    We are going to bundle up tomorrow as the temp is supposed to be below 0° 🧊 here in New England. I may have to make some chowdah today. 🍲 wicked cold, kid 🥶 when’s the truck leaving to take the Sawx to Florida for spring training? ⚾️. Any day now.

    Happy 🦫 day and F-you Punxsutawney Phil,

    — Smitty – The rodent killer 🚫🦫

  2. Ah, Smitty! You young welp! Yer Uncle is real OG. Even though our family was the first in our neighborhood to get color TV, I have many fond memories of the all Black & White days. Heck, even the first season of “Gilligan’s Island” was – originally – in black and white. Those episodes were later colorized for syndication, son. By the time that age old question came up – much later – about Ginger or Maryann, I was – and am still – in the Maryann camp. Ginger, though gorgeous, was just too prissy to be any real fun. Maryann was very pretty, and just down to earth, and wouldn’t worry about messing up her hair. AND . . . I bet she was the better cook too! LOL!

    — YUR

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.