Cryptoquote Spoiler – 10/20/15

Publicity photo from the television program Th...
Publicity photo from the television program The Streets of San Francisco. Pictured are Karl Malden (Mike Stone) and David Wayne. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You forget what you want to remember, and you remember what you want to forget.”   —  Cormac McCarthy

(No.  No, no, no, no no.  I’ve definitely forgotten things that I’ve wanted to forget.  Like when I was so drunk at my girlfriend’s sorority ball that I told the R.A.’s wife that I always wanted her.  And, that same night I told a friend that she was pretty hot . . . for a fat girl, and I’d probably do her if she lost weight.  I told a few people that they thought they were hot shit, and then I knocked on a number of hotel room doors – where I smelled the unmistakable smell of gangia – saying I was Karl Malden, from The Streets of San Francisco, and that this was a raid!  I had absolutely no recollection of any of this, until my girlfriend told me a few days later.  Even then, I thought she was pulling my leg.  She had to apologize for me quite a lot that night.  I’m lucky that nobody punched me out.  Then there was the night I skipped an entire scene, with the right lines at the wrong time, with a buddy of mine on stage.  He kind of got me back on the right page, after more than a little doing.  I learned not to take pain pills – especially, when they’re not your prescription – before going on stage, that night.  I had totally forgotten that episode, until I saw my buddy at a class reunion a few years back.  We were talking with another theater-rat friend, and she was relating a story about her messing up some lines, when I said:  Thank God that never happened to me.  My friend, who was on stage with me – oh so many years ago – was more than happy to remind me that yes, I had.  See.  That’s what friends are for!  To remind you of the things you’d sooner like to forget.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.