Jumble Solved – 05/23/24

The Role of Listening and Asking Questions in Divorce, Pt. 2: The Crucible  - Milner Law

Visual Description:  Busted bust.

FMREA  =  FRAME,  HITDR  =  THIRD,  STGAEK  =  GASKET,  MORCEH  =  CHROME   —   Giving us:  FAHDGAEROE

Clue/Question:  The blacksmith’s first few attempts weren’t to his liking, but he planned to – – –

BELLOWS definition in American English | Collins English Dictionary

Answer:  FORGE AHEAD

(A hot new Jumble answer!  Well, they could have used this answer before, I suppose, but I don’t remember seeing it.  It’s a nice artistic pun.  I do remember some sculpting Jumbles, but those were with clay, or marble.  Casting with molten metal is a whole different process.  Technically, today’s cartoon is actually about casting, and not forging.  But they both use metal and heat, so they are close.  The molten metal gets poured into a die, or mold, that yields the desired shape, when cooled. 

The world famous ralis95 clue word database says that all of today’ clue words have been used before.  Three of the jumbles are coming up as new, but we’ve definitely seen “morceh” in at least one previous Jumble.  I could say that all of the clue words came to me immediately, but I initially came up with DIRTH for the second word!  The word I was thinking about is actually spelled DEARTH, but the internet says that this is a common mistake.  The way it’s pronounced sounds like it should be spelled DIRTH.  The answer letter layout was a well-tempered ten letter jumble.  Even with my little boo boo I was able to see the final answer.

Great cartoon of the artist and the Hall of Famer.  Don’t ask me who either one is!  Could be one of Jeff’s idols.  I really liked the crucibles and the bellows.  It looks like – with the artist’s first draft – he ran out of molten metal.  The top of the star’s head is missing.  I’m sure the artist will do better the next time around.  Fun Jumble.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

Images courtesy of Google

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.