Sunday Jumble Spoiler – 08/14/16

English: Octopus kite at the Clovis, New Mexic...
English: Octopus kite at the Clovis, New Mexico kite festival (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  Aerial maneuvers.

NELTER  =  RELENT,  KOUCCO  =  CUCKOO,  GORTFO  =  FORGOT,  HEPIPI  =  HIPPIE,  TEAARK  =  KARATE,  SWODIN  =  DISOWN   —   Giving us:  EETUKOGOHPPKREDOW

Clue/Question:  When she and her father flew the kite she’d built by hand, he said – – –

Pre-Answer:  5 Words  (4-letters) (2-letters) (3-letters) (4-letters) (4-letters)

English: Multicolored nylon lattice delta kite...
English: Multicolored nylon lattice delta kite Français : Cerf-volant triangulaire (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

(For me, this was the toughest Sunday Jumble in quite a while.  Only one of the jumbles was a gimme for me, and that was “forgot”.  It took me quite a bit of time to un-jumble “relent”, “karate” and “disown”.  And “cuckoo” seemed a little too obvious, so I had to double check the spelling in the dictionary.  Not surprisingly, all of today’s jumbles came up as new.  And, both “cuckoo” and “hippie” are new clue words.  Our pal, ralis95, will have to update his world famous clue word database for those two.  The answer letter layout was  a very nice jumble, but getting the final answer was a little anti-climatic,  considering the tough time I had with the clue words.  The cartoon and the dialog really helped in getting the answer.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

7 comments

  1. Sure do appreciate the answers. Some days I solve them quickly and other days, like today, I don’t find an answer. Thank you for the email blasts for the Jumble.

  2. I agree that this was a real tough set of words. I had trouble with different words than you, though, UR. I got RELENT (which was in my “tougher words” list before) and FORGOT instantly. KARATE and DISOWN took a little thought, and HIPPIE and CUCKOO took me a long time. The final answer was straightforward.

  3. I’ve actually worked up to this puzzler! I didn’t have much issue with MOST of the jumbled words except FORGOT! I had at least figured out the jumbler answer and backed into it.

    I have worked through so many challenging and brilliant puzzlers the past month as I’ve tried to catch up!

    Thanks guyz and Unc! LL

  4. It’s always interesting to me how many of us jumblers can be stumped on a word, and after we’ve walked away from it for awhile and then come back to it, the correct word pops out at us. Seems like our brains re-set, like when we unplug the tv or computer to set them straight!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.