Sunday Jumble Solved – 04/21/24

Earl R. Anthony - Autographed Inscribed Photograph | HistoryForSale Item  214665

Visual Description:  Best Bowler ever?

PTNISL  =  SPLINT,  NECUQH  =  QUENCH,  CIYODI  =  IDIOCY,  SKANHE  =  SHAKEN,  GJULEG  =  JUGGLE,  RANWID  =  INWARD   —   Giving us:  PLTEHIIYSHUGLAR

Clue/Question:  For PBA Hall of Famer Earl Anthony, bowling left-handed was – – –

Pre-Answer:  Four Words  (5-letters)  (2-letters)  (3-letters)  (5-letters)

unstable puzzle Necessities earl anthony Tickling assistance Bitterness

Answer:  RIGHT UP HIS ALLEY

(Great stinky pun!  Earl Anthony and Dick Weber were the best professional bowlers when I was growing up.  There used to be bowling shows when I was a kid.  And they’d frequently feature pro bowling on ABC’s “Wide World of Sports”.  Before the days of streaming and cable  “Wide World of Sports” was THE way to see sports other than baseball, football, basketball and hockey.  They’d show jai-alai, badminton, demolition derbies, rodeos, weight-lifting, arm-wrestling, NASCAR, Grand Prix racing, Sumo wrestling, the soapbox derby, Little League World Series, boxing, cliff diving from Acapulco, you name it, if it was a little unconventional they’d show it.  It was a great way to see the various sports of the world.  I miss that old show.

All six clue words are on the world famous ralis95 clue word database.  Five of the jumbles are coming up as new for me.  The only one we’ve definitely seen in a previous Jumble is “ranwid”.  The answer letter layout is a fantastic fifteen letter jumble.  I thought it was excellently cryptic.  I had to re-write the vowels, and then the consonants, in alphabetical order, before I could figure out the final answer.  That helped me to see UP HIS, and then the rest fell into place.

Wonderful cartoon of the great one, Earl Anthony.  Back in the day, he seemed virtually unbeatable.  I’d forgotten that he was a southpaw.  My brother and I used to go bowling when we were teens.  He was 2 years older, and he was always better at bowling than I was.  But we both had fun.  I haven’t bowled in about 19 years.  It used to be an inexpensive way to spend an afternoon, or evening, but I hear that it is kinda pricey these days.  Too bad.  Fun Jumble.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

Images courtesy of Google

2 comments

  1. I used to love to watch bowling on TV. I bowled in a couple of leagues with friends. And, if I say so myself, I probably could not have gotten any worse!! :) But I always had a good time. My brother was a big bowler and his team went to tournaments a lot. And, I do remember going to the bowling alley and watching my granddaddy bowl. Good ole days for sure.  LL.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.