Jumble Solved – 03/11/24

The Gypsy Fortune Teller Painting by Portraits By NC - Fine Art America

Visual Description:  Eyes on the prize.

PRAGH  =  GRAPH,  LIRLD  =  DRILL,  HOCCUR  =  CROUCH,  USELNS  =  UNLESS   —   Giving us:  RADICNS

Clue/Question:  The Tarot reader started her own business and hoped that success was – – –

The Fortune Teller Artwork By Harry Roseland Oil Painting & Art Prints On  Canvas For Sale - PaintingStar.com Art Online Store

Answer:  IN THE CARDS

(Even I could have predicted this final answer!  This has been a popular Jumble theme over the years.  I’m not sure about the statute of limitations, but I do think it has been a while since we’ve had a Tarot card Jumble.  I once gave into a reading.  I had seen this roadside sign advertising $10 readings numerous times, and always just laughed.  Then one day I said, What the heck, so I stopped and knocked on the door.  She immediately upsold me on a $40 reading.  She told me absolutely nothing useful.  It was a total waste of time . . . and 40 bucks!

All four clue words are on the ralis95 clue word database.  And only one of the jumbles is coming up as new.  We have surely seen “pragh”, “lirld” and “hoccur” in earlier Jumbles.  I initially wrote down SULLEN instead of UNLESS.  When I saw that the U & E weren’t going to work with the final answer –  that I knew – I went back and saw my mistake.  For the record, David L. Hoyt, the word SULLEN is NOT on the ralis95 clue word database!  The answer letter layout was a slight seven letter jumble.  Decently cryptic though.

Fun little fortune teller cartoon.  Lots of great stereotypes.  She’s got her peasant dress and babushka.  The all-seeing eyes, and the obligatory black cat!  The customer seems anxious to throw her money away.  “A fool and their money are soon parted.”  Take it from a former fool, folks!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

Images courtesy of Google

One comment

  1. 40 bucks down the drain for a tarot reading! Not the kind of thing UR would fall for today, of course.

    Being gullible occassionally – in my thinking – improves one’s streetwiseness the same way crawling on the ground improves the soundness of an infant’s immune system.

    Nowadays with all the information online, one does not need to consult any ” professional” for anything as long as one has all “working tools” at home and good grey matter!

    With doctors, and similar professions, of course, one has to make consultations for issues that require medical devices to diagonise (We don’t expect anyone to possess a CT Scan device at home, LOL)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.