Sunday Jumble Solved – 08/20/23

The Big Valley and Beyond: The Life & Career of Barbara Stanwyck - INSP TV  | TV Shows and Movies

Visual Description:  A helping hand?

THWISC  =  SWITCH,  FYMLIA  =  FAMILY,  LNOCGU  =  UNCLOG,  NYARTT  =  TYRANT,  LEEETD  =  DELETE,  NLEGET  =  GENTLE   —   Giving us:  SITAINOGYRNETEGN

Clue/Question:  The older horseback rider who needed help into her saddle was – – –

Pre-Answer:  Four Words  (7-letters)  (2-letters)  (2-letters)  (5-letters)

EXPOSED! BARBARA STANWYCK DARKEST SECRETS | National Enquirer

Answer:  GETTING ON IN YEARS

(A wonderful, stinky Jumble pun, that some of our younger puzzlers may have struggled with.  I semi allowed my daughter to do today’s Jumble.  I had to help her with two of the clue words – one of them being brand new – and she couldn’t complete the final answer.  Mainly because she was not familiar with the idiom.

Our good friend, ralis95, will have to update his World Famous clue word database, because UNCLOG has not been used before today!  I was a little surprised, because I figured Hoyt had used all the UN words already.  This was also one of the words that my daughter didn’t unscramble.  The other – surprisingly – was SWITCH.  All six jumbles came up as new, for me.  The answer letter layout was a sibylline sixteen letter jumble!  Most definitely cryptic.  The cartoon, its dialog, the clue/question and the layout of the final answer slots made for an immediate solve, for me.

Great cartoon of the middle – to older – aged woman, preparing to go for a ride.  The guy appears to be a bit younger, so I’m calling him a ranch hand.  This is an all-American Jumble, as she is about to climb into a Western saddle.  I wonder which is actually more comfortable for women, the English side saddle, or the Western saddle?  This question just came to me.  I’ve never even thought of it before.  It would seem to me that you would have better feel/control of the horse with a Western saddle.  Any horse aficionados out there?  Is it just me, or did Miss Barbara Stanwyck just seem to get better with age???  Fun Sunday Jumble.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

PS.  It is Barbara Stanwyck day on TCM (Turner Classic Movies) today.  If you like classic films they’re on all day!      YUR

Images courtesy of Google

6 comments

  1. Ok, so…Love TCM! Two new clue words??? UNCLOG and SWITCH?? Wowser!!!

    UNCLOG held me up for a bit. WHY!!!???? I usually go for the UN words first when UN is in the jumbled letters. It was a Sunday Jumble, and, like the quoted Jumble words, I’m immediately intimidated. Usually because the Sunday Jumble is more thought provoking. And, I’m not saying the daily Jumbles are a breeze.

    Now, our Jumble guys are not old…but, after your comments Unc, I wonder what jumbled words would look like if someone of the present generation was doing the Jumble. I’d probably be at a loss for words!!! LL

  2. Only UNCLOG is new, LindaLee. SWITCH has been used before, but my daughter struggled to come up with it. The Sunday final answers are generally longer, and that can make them appear more difficult, but I found today’s (yesterday’s) to be a breeze.

    The youngsters have come up with a slew of new words, like: giggy, belfie, hangry, zaddy (like me) and gucci, etc., etc. So, maybe Hoyt will take note and spin off the “Jamble”, for that hip and happenin’ crowd of millennials and such. Hey! Are you paying attention, cuz??? This could be a new money maker for you! And, I think you need to cut LindaLee in on the action!

    Remember folks. You heard it all here first!

    — YUR

  3. I recall watching Barbara Stanwyck often on TV when I was young. She was a favorite of mine all the way to the end.

    Yes, I had the hots for her even if I was way too young for her.

    She usually played the parts of tough women. That might have been my attraction. I often had a thing for tough women, even if I was too young for all of them.

  4. Yes. She was much more compelling than the namby pamby Audra Barkley, played by a very young Linda Evans. I was but a wee lad myself when “The Big Valley” originally aired.

    — YUR

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.