Jumble Solved – 06/16/23

Singer, Isaac Merrit (1811-1875)

Visual Description:  Sewing things up.

BTEAA  =  ABATE,  EESSN  =  SENSE,  ULMEMP  =  PUMMEL,  WIOSDN  =  DISOWN   —   Giving us:  BAESESPMELDISO

Clue/Question:  For Isaac Singer, getting into the sewing machine business – – –

imperatív dosiahnuteľný lokomotíva isaac singer sewing machine sféra  odpojený emulzie

Answer:  SEAMED POSSIBLE

(I didn’t drop a stitch on this one!  What’s that?  That would be more of a knitting/crocheting pun?  Well . . . a-hem . . . excuse me!  I guess I’ll have to take a different tack on this.  All I’m saying is that I solved this one quicker than I expected.  But I’m guessing that most of you didn’t have much trouble getting it either.

All four clue words are on the world famous ralis95 clue word database!  Three of the jumbles appear to be new, but – strangely – we’ve seen “ulmemp” in an earlier Jumble.  With a word that’s relatively rare you’d think that they could come up with a different jumble!  LOL!  The answer letter layout was another formidable – and fantastic – fourteen letter jumble.  I thought it was wonderfully cryptic.  The lead up of the clue/question, and the quotation marks made for the quick solve.

Great historic/period piece cartoon, from our pal, Jeff Knurek!  Sew . . . Singer did NOT invent the sewing machine, but what he did was make significant improvements to the machines that were out there, making them much easier for home use.  He made pretty big bucks, for his time, but the surprising thing was that he was a big Playa!  Besides being married, he had numerous mistresses, and he fathered . . . 26 children in all!  He was the combination Donald Trump/Nick Cannon of his day!  He looks like he was probably an arrogant prick too.  I remember using a sewing machine in Home Economics, when I was in 8th grade.  That was the first year that it was offered to boys!  I’m pretty sure I’ve forgotten just about everything I learned back then by now.  And, I’m betting that Home Ec is completely coed these days.  Maybe I’ve remembered some of it.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

Images courtesy of Google

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.