Jumble Spoiler – 08/08/17

 

Image result for earth science

Visual Description:  Earth Science.

GWUNS  =  SWUNG,  THUMO  =  MOUTH,  SLCOTY  =  COSTLY,  KAWYEL  =  WEAKLY   —   Giving us:  SNGMOHCOTEAL

Clue/Question:  They studied the attractive properties of certain metals at the – – –

Image result for magnet school

Answer:  MAGNET SCHOOL

(If you’re anything like me, this answer – initially – meant absolutely nothing to me.  I mean, I figured it out easily enough, but I’d never heard the term before.  I know I don’t know everything, so I asked my daughter if she was familiar with the term.  She’s a teacher, and she had to look it up!  Maybe they’re bigger in certain parts of the country.  My daughter teaches in the Bronx, for what it’s worth.  After reading what they are I get it.  But, when a joke has to be explained to you it always loses a little something.

No new clue words, but all of the jumbles came up as new!  I saw them all immediately.  Great answer letter layout.  I figured SCHOOL right off, and saw MAGNET in the remaining letters, but I didn’t feel good about it until my daughter confirmed it for me.  Live and learn, folks!  Nice classroom cartoon.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


7 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 08/08/17”


  1. 1 Marie Whitworth August 8, 2017 at 3:40 pm

    Made no sense to me either. Finally thought to google “magnet school”. Never heard of them before. Just goes to show doing Jumbles , is not a waste of time
    Marie

  2. 2 LindaLee August 8, 2017 at 3:49 pm

    Funny you should say that Unc. After I figured out the clue words, I knew the answer. Then I sat at the table trying to figure out why I knew MAGNET SCHOOL. We must have some around here and I’d read or heard about them. So now I’ve looked it up too and now know what they are!

    Like I’ve said before, I’m always learning something new here! LindaLee

  3. 3 haliburton76 August 8, 2017 at 4:31 pm

    Well, it’s big deal down here. At first, each district created one “magnet school” to aggregate the college-prep and high achievers; now, however, virtually every school is labeled “magnet” or “arts academy” or “technology center,” just to avoid the stigma of being another failing public school! Dave & Jeff are surely working from the original model.

  4. 4 Art Shapiro August 8, 2017 at 5:14 pm

    The term is not uncommon here in Southern California. I have little interest in the subject, but am vaguely aware that it refers to some sort of specialized curriculum more concentrated in one area than the traditional public school

  5. 5 unclerave August 8, 2017 at 8:23 pm

    Some “got it” right away. And, some were like me and Marie. Maybe the term was thrown around some years ago, around here, but then fell by the wayside when the specialized schools became more commonplace. Dunno, guys! — YUR 🙂

  6. 6 Damidwesterner August 8, 2017 at 10:36 pm

    For me, I think Magnet Schools is a term I heard a long time ago. I want to say it was in the 60s or 70s in the Pacific Northwest. There were some Magnet Schools being discussed. Too long ago for me to remember the context, but after looking at the cartoon, the term came up right away.

  7. 7 Anonymous August 9, 2017 at 7:19 am

    Got answer right away but didn’t make sense to me thanks for the explanation, I suppose I missed out on “magnet School” placement!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,565 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
August 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 4,989,589 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


