Jumble Spoiler – 08/04/17

Image result for poker tournament

Visual Description:  Learning the hard way.

WTISF  =  SWIFT,  STFIH  =  SHIFT,  VATDEN  =  ADVENT,  ZARNBE  =  BRAZEN   —   Giving us:  SWISHFDNTRAEN

Clue/Question:  He lost after going “all in” and had to give his wife the – – – 

Image result for dogs playing poker

Answer:  FIRSTHAND NEWS

(A very clever pun.  I have to admit it had me stumped for a couple of minutes.  For me, maybe because of the excellent answer letter layout, I did not see the word NEWS, but I did see the word DRAW.  I went with DRAW for a bit, but couldn’t think of what SISHFNTEN could do for me.  With only three vowels, out of thirteen letters, this also made the solve a little difficult.  Of course I also considered the word DRAWN, for the first word.  The hyphen saved me from trying to go with DRAWN-SENT FISH.  Once I got over DRAWN – that reminds me, I have to check my account balance before paying some bills – I came upon the word NEWS!  With ISHFDNTRA I was able to see the FIRST-HAND pun.  It’s nice seeing an answer that comes off as original.

No new clue words today, however all of the jumbles came up as new.  I already mentioned the great answer letter layout.  Fun cartoon too.  I always like it when Jeff puts himself and Kathy into them.  The other characters around the poker table are classic!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

PS.  I’ll never grow up.  Dogs playing poker still cracks me up!     YUR


3 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 08/04/17”


  1. 1 haliburton76 August 4, 2017 at 4:03 pm

    No pushover today, UR. 13 letters is usually a challenge! I finally deduced that “give his wife” meant the NEWS, and then FIRST-HAND came into focus.

  2. 2 Damidwesterner August 4, 2017 at 10:50 pm

    I also got NEWS right away. Admittedly, since I got the clue words out of order, FIRST and HAND didn’t pop right out…..

  3. 3 LindaLee August 5, 2017 at 7:53 pm

    OY!!!! I did not have the answer and saw it when I was working the 8/5/17 jumble! Drat. BUT, I was stuck. I had NEWS. In my four letter work up; I did not have FIRST. That could have made a difference in my Ah-Ha moment!

    Stumper indeed!! LL


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,567 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
August 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 5,073,160 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


