Jumble Spoiler – 06/29/17

Related image

Visual Description:  The queue at the café.

VROGE  =  GROVE,  COLTU  =  CLOUT,  OLODED  =  DOODLE,  PRICST  =  SCRIPT   —   Giving us:  ROECOTDODESCRT

Clue/Question:  He told his wife there wouldn’t be a long line, but he – – –

Related image

Answer:  STOOD CORRECTED

(A great, stinky pun!  I’m betting some of you struggled to get this one.  It took me a few seconds to get it, but I was impressed, so I showed it to my daughter.  She didn’t spend a lot of time with it, but she didn’t see the answer.  All of the clue words are old favorites, but all of the jumbles came up as new.  The answer letter layout was a masterful, cryptic jumble.  The cartoon provided the best clues.  All the people standing, and the wife with the angry “I told you so” expression on her face.  Nice work, guys.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


2 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 06/29/17”


  1. 1 David June 29, 2017 at 5:37 pm

    I needed one minute to get this bonus answer, longer than usual for me but not a huge head-scratcher. With a past-tense clue and an -ED to work with, the solution did break the expected pattern by moving the -ED to the second-word adjective instead of the first-word verb. But there weren’t a lot of different letters to work with and not many possible three-letter verbs for the first word before the -ED, so I gave up on the expected pattern quicker than I otherwise might have and then did quickly hit on the solution. I like this puzzle though.

  2. 2 Damidwesterner June 29, 2017 at 11:57 pm

    For me, I got STOOD, given all the “O”s. I probably could have gotten the second word faster if I picked up on the ED part like David did. I didn’t see the past tense. :/


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,549 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog

Blog Stats

  • 4,754,853 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


