Jumble Spoiler – 06/15/17

Image result for feeding the chickens

Visual Description:  On the ground, down on the farm.

GECYA  =  CAGEY,  DOORE  =  RODEO,  NIDIEV  =  DIVINE,  CURPEK  =  PUCKER   —   Giving us:  CGEREODINPKR

Clue/Question:  The rooster would have to wait to eat because there was a – – –

Image result for feeding the chickens

Answer:  PECKING ORDER

(Not being a farm boy, I’m not sure how accurate this particular Jumble pun might be.  You’d think, with the whole male dominance thing, that the rooster would eat first, and the hens would be the ones to wait.  But, there is always strength in numbers, and there are always more hens than roosters.  Right?

Well.  Stop the presses!  Alert the media!  And, somebody wake up ralis95!  We have not one, but two new clue words today.  Even before consulting my read-only copy of the Jumble Clue Word Bible, the world famous ralis95 clue word database, I thought to myself:  Hmm, I don’t think I’ve seen Hoyt use “cagey” or “pucker” before.  Lo and behold, my suspicions were correct.  So, two new words for the database are pending the big man’s approval.  Only the jumble for “rodeo” has been used before.  The answer letter layout was a super, cryptic jumble.  Nothing obvious, at all.  And, the cartoon is charming.  That’s it.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


5 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 06/15/17”


  1. 1 Damidwesterner June 16, 2017 at 12:09 am

    I had the most trouble with DIVINE. Mainly because I kept misspelling it DEVINE, like ND football coach Dan Devine. 🙂

    PS. When ralis95 lists his clue words, it’s only the word, and not all the possible permutations, right? I only ask because you mention that ‘we’ve seen before, and with all the puzzles over the years, I wonder how you keep track.

  2. 2 unclerave June 16, 2017 at 1:04 pm

    By permutations you mean the possible jumble combinations? His list gives the actual word, and then a single jumble of it, that is in alphabetical order. I really don’t keep track. I know he has been maintaining this database for more years than I have been hosting this blog. He admits that he doesn’t do the Sunday Jumble, so other than what I write in the spoilers he wouldn’t pick up on any of those *new words* on his own. And, any *new words* that hit the Sunday Jumbles before I started this blog likely weren’t caught. And then, there’s the lag time of what might be a *new word* since my latest read only copy, which currently is as of 02/01/17. I try to stay on top of the various jumbles of the clue words, that Hoyt uses by adding them to my Tags in WordPress. If it comes up as a jumble we’ve seen before I should see it as a Tag that I’ve saved. When they don’t come up, I add it to the Tags. I haven’t been doing this since the very beginning of the blog, and it is far less formal than the ralis95 database. That’s why I usually will say that a certain jumble “appears to be new”.

    This either clears things up for you, or might confuse you even more. I hope it’s the former, Damid.

    — YUR

  3. 3 jenn June 16, 2017 at 8:05 pm

    Glad you asked that, Damid, it led to a very interesting explanation..thanks for that, UR! Have a super weekend, everyone!

  4. 4 Damidwesterner June 17, 2017 at 12:04 am

    No, that’s good. Didn’t think about the tags. 🙂

  5. 5 unclerave June 17, 2017 at 10:59 am

    Yer welcome! And, you too, jenn! — YUR


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,542 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 4,680,415 hits

Recent Comments

unclerave on Jumble Spoiler – 06…
Jim Home Dot on Jumble Spoiler – 06…
unclerave on Cryptoquote Spoiler –…
Aston Nairne on Cryptoquote Spoiler –…
unclerave on Cryptoquote Spoiler –…

Member of The Internet Defense League


