Jumble Spoiler – 05/04/17

Image result for the first traffic light

Visual Description:  The corner of East 105th Street and Euclid Avenue in Cleveland, Ohio, August 5th, 1914. (As per Wikipedia)

WERFE  =  FEWER,  RIHDT  =  THIRD,  VOTEMI  =  MOTIVE,  GORJEG  =  JOGGER   —   Giving us:  FEETHRMOTOGG

Clue/Question:  The first traffic light ever installed was popular – – –

Image result for the first traffic light

Answer:  FROM THE GET-GO

(Another great period piece pun!  The guys have really been on a roll lately with them.  All of today’s clue words are old favorites.  But, three of the jumbles appear to be new.  We have seen “votemi” before.  The answer letter layout was sufficiently cryptic, but the answer came to me immediately, regardless.  I should be so smart when it comes to my computer!  Got a new one a couple of months ago, and decided to spring for a wireless mouse and keyboard.  I’ve actually used a wireless mouse with a laptop before, but this is the first time for a wireless keyboard.  This morning the computer started up, but when I hit “Enter” to bring up the “Login” screen nothing happened!  The mouse didn’t seem to be responding either.  It quickly dawned on me that I had NEVER shut off either the keyboard, or the mouse . . . in all this time!  I scrounged around for some AAA batteries.  Found a small four-pack in my junk drawer, and it said they were supposed to be good through 01 – 2018.  Replaced the ones in the keyboard, but it didn’t work.  So, I removed the USB thingie, and I plugged in my old – wired – keyboard and mouse, and I was finally able to get everything going.  You’d think that there would be some kind of warning that the batteries were getting low for the wireless things, but no!  It’s a good thing that I held on to the old ones, I guess.  The cartoon is fun, but I think Jeff’s cars look more 1920s than 1914!  I just love to nitpick!  Just two colors though?  How did they know when to drive very very fast???  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


3 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 05/04/17”


  1. 1 Jumble Jeff May 4, 2017 at 11:43 am

    You noticed the year of the cars but looked past the fact they’re driving on the wrong side of the road? That’s the real mistake in this one. Obviously no one on my end caught it, including me. I guess they were horrible drivers back then.

  2. 2 unclerave May 4, 2017 at 12:48 pm

    LOL! You got me, there. Looks like none of us picked up on that! — YUR

  3. 3 Damidwesterner May 4, 2017 at 10:59 pm

    I sure didn’t. It was a good jumble; a steady plod got all the clue words. Then I got the answer by figuring one word was GO, then looking for the likely 3-letter words for the first 3-letter block. After that, it was just checking off the remaining letters. Though I admit I didn’t write down all the clue letters (missed both “O”s). Adding them confirmed ‘GO’.
    I have a wireless keyboard and mouse setup on the PC at my vacation place; I turn them both off when I’m not there. I have a note telling me to turn them on before firing up that PC. 😀


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,562 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog

Blog Stats

  • 4,994,347 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


