Jumble Spoiler – 04/29/17

Image result for smokey and the bandit

Visual Description:  Clever copper.

NUJTO  =  JOINT,  CCINY  =  CYNIC,  CURPSE  =  SPRUCE,  TUREMT  =  MUTTER   —   Giving us:  JOICICSPEUTTE

Clue/Question:  The rhyming sheriff specialized in – – – 

Related image

Answer:  POETIC JUSTICE

(A very nice, and long answer!  No new clue words today, but three new jumbles.  We’ve seen “curpse” before.  The answer letter layout was definitely nifty!  A cryptic jumbo jumble!  The cartoon has a semi “Smokey and The Bear” feel to it.  Maybe “The Dukes of Hazard”.  Don’t sass the sheriff!  Nowadays, you just might get shot!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


3 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 04/29/17”


  1. 1 Damidwesterner April 29, 2017 at 10:52 pm

    Spruce was the tough word of the day. I got Mutter, but stopped to consider if that was the right word or not.

  2. 2 David April 30, 2017 at 1:40 pm

    That was a challenging bonus answer–nice work guys. I took the bait on the cryptic clue. “Rhyming” suggested to me a two-word bonus answer that would rhyme–they do that sometimes–especially when, as in this bonus answer, there are a number of letters appearing twice that could be used to make a rhyme. Fortunately I tried -ice first at the end of each word and also remembered that often “J” in a bonus answer is somewhat more likely to be at the front of a word than in the middle, which quickly got me to “justice” and a faster solution than if I’d kept looking for rhyme words to solve it. Sometimes I stay with my mistaken assumption too long, and other times I get lucky and quickly realize I’m off-track.

  3. 3 unclerave April 30, 2017 at 10:00 pm

    Even though “good poetry” doesn’t necessarily rhyme, I’m a simple enough kind of slob to make the jump of “rhyming” to “poetic” without too much thought! But, I definitely know where you are coming from, David. I kind of felt that way about today’s (Sunday’s) Jumble. Based on my assumptions, I tried a few things, erroneously, but then I wised up!

    — YUR


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,567 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 5,114,500 hits

Recent Comments

LindaLee on Curtain Raiser
unclerave on Curtain Raiser
unclerave on (Tough?) Sunday Jumble Spoiler…
unclerave on Jumble Spoiler – 12…
LindaLee on (Tough?) Sunday Jumble Spoiler…

Member of The Internet Defense League


