Jumble Spoiler – 04/19/17

Related image

Visual Description:  Nature’s resurrection.

VADIO  =  AVOID,  WOLRG  =  GROWL,  LIFTEL  =  FILLET,  VONBIE  =  BOVINE  —   Giving us:  ARLFEE

Clue/Question:  With Winter over, Spring was this to the trees.

Related image

Answer:  A “RELEAF

(A very welcome, classic pun!  With two new clue words, no less!  Yes, both “growl” and “bovine” are coming up as new, and need to be added to the world famous ralis95 clue word database.  Only the jumble “liftel” has definitely been used before.  The answer letter layout was cryptic enough, considering the length of the answer.  The cartoon harkens back to “The Wizard of Oz”, but the trees are much more benign.  I think there are animated trees in one, or more, of the “Lord of the Rings” movies too.  And, there is that tree dude in “Guardians of the Galaxy” also!  The squirrels seem happy, as does the lone tulip.  Another winner, guys.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


13 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 04/19/17”


  1. 1 Eugene Pendleton April 19, 2017 at 10:41 am

    Where are you getting these jumbles from? I love word games, and found your site searching for jumbles, but only see your solutions, not the initial puzzles.

    Do you use something like http://www.xxxxxxxxxxxx.com/ for the solutions?

    Thanks!

  2. 2 ralis95 April 19, 2017 at 11:40 am

    Hoyt keeps adding new words! We’re now up to 3167; how marvelous. Maybe you should run a contest to see how many new words could be suggested for Hoyt’s use. You know, you’d have to compare the submissions against the database, before passing them on. But, what an opportunity for your readers to assist in creating new puzzles.

  3. 3 haliburton76 April 19, 2017 at 7:54 pm

    Is the new word BOVINE, ralis95? It’s the one that caused me a slight delay. You might say I was COWED momentarily …

  4. 4 Damidwesterner April 19, 2017 at 10:28 pm

    I had to think about FILLET a bit; I was first thinking about filet, but I know about fillet welds. BOVINE took a bit of time as well, I saw the INE part but had a brain freeze with shuffling the VOB. 🙂

  5. 5 lindalee April 19, 2017 at 11:07 pm

    What a grand idea Ralis! And thanks for the word count. Do you keep up with it yearly too?

    And what a grand puzzle!!! RE-LEAF — almost held me up. And BOVINE did hold me up!!

    Love the pics Unc. I figured the apple tree was from the Wizard of Oz>> Didn’t a tree fuss at them for trying to eat it’s fruit???

    Eugene, there are several places that you can find the guys jumble on line. One is the Seattle Times. I just google Seattle Times Jumble when I don’t have my paper. It is interactive, but you could print it off I suppose.

    There is a Just Jumble app for your phone that is fun.

    Jumble – Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

    And on facebook seach JUMBLE…not sure if the puzzle is there daily, but lots of interesting stuff!

    Take care all. LL

  6. 6 unclerave April 20, 2017 at 10:33 am

    “Where are you getting these jumbles from?”??? How are you a Jumble fan if you don’t know where I’m getting these from, Eugene? The Jumble puzzle appears – daily – in over 600 newspapers in the U.S. and overseas. Your best bet would The New York Daily News, but it is also available online in a number of places. My site is not an official Jumble site, so I don’t run the puzzle itself. I simply rehash all the clues, and then post the answer – as a “spoiler” – on the day that it runs in the newspapers. (The newspapers provide the answer the *next day*.) I use no website for the solutions, because that would be cheating. Like anyone who enjoys the challenge of these word games I use my noodle. People come to this site mostly to confirm what they got, see what I wrote about it, and comment on either the Jumble, or what I wrote about it. Sometimes both. I generally don’t like promoting sites like the one you posted, so I will probably edit your comment to remove it. Nothing personal. I think that those who are inclined to . . . *take shortcuts* can find these kind of sites on their own.

    Feel free to participate in the daily conversation though!

    — YUR

  7. 7 ralis95 April 20, 2017 at 12:05 pm

    A couple of responses: To haliburton76 – yes, as unclerave already noted, BOVINE is a new word. But, your pun is great! To lindalee – I maintain the database twice a week, year-around, adding any new words I have found. I provide updated lists to both unclerave and Hoyt, as a courtesy, from time-to-time. As for unclerave’s abilities to solve the daily Jumbles, let me tell the world that I have seen him in action, at my own kitchen table, competing with me to solve the daily Jumble in my morning paper – and he beat me by minutes! BY MINUTES! I have a Journalism degree, have written seven novels, and have a large expanse of words in my lexicon. BUT unclerave, seemingly has instant recall of a Jillion words in his brain and a vast ability to “see” which one best fits as unscrambled words to solve the puzzles. Believe me – I’ve seen him in action first hand – and he is the best!

  8. 8 unclerave April 20, 2017 at 1:29 pm

    You forgot to mention how exceedingly handsome I am too, ralis95! Jeez! (He did it much better in rehearsals, folks.) Regardless . . . the check is in the mail, my friend! LOL!

    — YUR

  9. 9 jenn April 20, 2017 at 5:55 pm

    I just have to quick pop in to say that I always enjoy ‘all ya’ll’s’ smile-worthy word puns and funny replies! =)

  10. 10 ralis95 April 20, 2017 at 7:59 pm

    Exceedingly handsome???? You forget, I’ve sat next to you in New York; I’ve sat next to you in California – and good lord almighty, only your wonderful wife and mine thinks you are handsome. So keep the check! (Buy copies of my latest “Collection” instead and give them to all your friends.)

  11. 11 unclerave April 21, 2017 at 8:51 am

    That’s because you are a MAN’S MAN, ralis95. Macho guys like us NEVER find each OTHER attractive. LOL! Besides, we both know WHO the SMART ones are in our lives! — YUR

  12. 12 lindalee April 21, 2017 at 2:03 pm

    Unc, feel free to edit any post I put out there!!! I actually hesitated putting out that info.

    Thanks Ralis! I love hearing about y’all jumbling it out at your table!

    And, the women are probably right!!! 🙂 LL

  13. 13 unclerave April 21, 2017 at 8:38 pm

    Not to worry, LindaLee! And, you know the women are right! LOL! — YUR


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,541 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 4,686,561 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


