Jumble Spoiler – 02/10/17

Image result for individual twins

Visual Description:  Individual twins.

TAHEW  =  WHEAT,  NUCTO  =  COUNT,  SWODAH  =  SHADOW,  HEGTWI  =  WEIGHT   —   Giving us:  WEATCONSHOWIH

Clue/Question:  The identical twin boys dressed so differently because – – – 

Image result for individual twins

Answer:  TWO EACH HIS OWN

(Excellent pun!  And, I didn’t get it right away.  I figured the three letter word in quotation marks pretty much had to be TWO, so that left me with EACNSHOWIH.  When I saw those remaining letters the answer hit me like a ton of bricks!  No new clue words today, but three of the jumbles came up new.  Hoyt has used “tahew” before.  Initially, I thought the answer letter layout made for a very tough jumble.  But, after removing the W, T, and O it became a piece of cake.  The cartoon was cute, but today’s version, in the paper I’m using, lacked detail.  I wish some newspaper editors were followers of this blog, and read Jeff’s comment from the other day.  If you like, feel free to copy it, to add it to your email to your editors, complaining about the size of your comics and puzzles!  I don’t know why they’re so dense?  Don’t they realize that the vast majority of their few, remaining readers are getting up there in age?  Dumb, dumb, dumb.  They are just hastening the demise of the medium.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR 


12 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 02/10/17”


  1. 1 Colltales February 10, 2017 at 1:39 pm

    One day, we’re going to sit down and you’re going to explain how this works. It’s a mystery to me, but it seems fascinating. I like your asides, but I feel that I may be missing something (duh).

  2. 2 haliburton76 February 10, 2017 at 1:50 pm

    I also found this one challenging, UR. Like you, I figured one word had to be TWO, but then I was trying to fit ONE, WITH, HAS … and it wasn’t till I tried EACH that the thing came together. Hit me like a falling brick!
    PS. In the dead-tree edition of my paper, the artwork and print of Jumble are small but very sharp. For some reason, the online edition, when printed out, is enlarged and blurry (same with Cryptoquote, New York Times crossword and comic strips). Nobody at Gannett, it seems, cares a bit about word puzzles, or else they’d address this. But don’t they know the most read page of any paper is the comics?

  3. 3 lwc February 10, 2017 at 4:07 pm

    ” I wish some newspaper editors were followers of this blog, and read Jeff’s comment from the other day.”
    ____________________________________________________________

    If you still have it, which day did Jeff send that comment. I’d like to look it up.

    As to the partners Hoyt and Knurek, does one write the jumble while the other creates the cartoon ?

  4. 4 unclerave February 10, 2017 at 5:55 pm

    lwc,

    It was to the Jumble Spoiler of 02/06/17, and Jeff’s comment was posted on 02/08/17.

    Yes, it’s a collaboration with Hoyt being the word man, and Knurek providing the corresponding artwork.

    — YUR

  5. 5 Barb Taylor February 10, 2017 at 8:51 pm

    Kudos to all who solved this! Got all the words fairly easily but gave up on solution. Hate when that happens. Y’all take care & keep reading the paper. 😃

  6. 6 unclerave February 10, 2017 at 9:45 pm

    It definitely wasn’t a “gimme” today, Barb! — YUR

  7. 7 unclerave February 11, 2017 at 1:13 pm

    Wes. Are you talking about The Jumble, or the Cryptoquote? They are both popular daily puzzles in many newspapers around the world. (Not the New York Times, of course, because they are a snooty elitist newspaper who think that they are too “sophisticated” to carry a comics section.) I’m not sure which other NYC papers might carry them, but you can always go to the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (Online) to access these and many other great puzzles, if you so desire. I simply solve them, then come to my blog and post what I call my “spoilers”, before the answers appear in the newspapers the next day. I am posting the link to the ArkansasOnline puzzle page, for your perusal, below. When you see The Jumble it explains itself very well. The Cryptoquote is a substitution cipher that you figure out a famous, or not so famous, quotation.

    — YUR

    http://www.arkansasonline.com/games/

  8. 8 lwc February 11, 2017 at 4:28 pm

    Wes can also get the Daily Jumble in color from the USA Today’s website: puzzles.usatoday.com/jumble/.

  9. 9 Colltales February 11, 2017 at 10:09 pm

    That’s so incredibly clever. Thanks for the link. I’m intimidated by puzzles and crosswords; even the simplest is too much to me. They prove that I’m not bright. I try to avoid other things that affect me in the same way, and they’re many. Worse, I tell myself, yeah, but I’m smart at something else, but have no idea what. Fraud, I know. Cheers

  10. 10 unclerave February 11, 2017 at 11:07 pm

    You are most definitely “smarter than the average bear”, Wes! And, a splendid writer to boot!

    — YUR

  11. 11 Colltales February 12, 2017 at 12:17 am

    That’s kind of you, but I’d be a quick bear snack before even finishing this sentence. lol

  12. 12 LindaLee February 17, 2017 at 11:18 pm

    Oh, I see it in your blog Unc! Geesh! Feeling rather not smart here! This puzzler has put me way behind. That and being gone! I was so going a different route. I wish I’d seen TWO. I just knew it was a who’s who type thing, and totally stuck with that. Of course, I could never make it make sense!!

    I’m with Barb, kudos to those who solved it!

    Onward and forward!

    Take care….LL


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,558 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
February 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Blog Stats

  • 4,924,975 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


