Jumble Spoiler – 02/09/17

Image result for craft beer

Visual Description:  Hipster hissy fit.

DANYH  =  HANDY,  VEEWA  =  WEAVE,  BREEKU  =  REBUKE,  NOCHES  =  CHOSEN   —   Giving us:  HAWARBHE

Clue/Question:  When the beer makers argued over who made better beer the result was a – – – 

Related image

Answer:  BREWHAHA

(Vunderbar!  I’ve been a beer drinker all of my life.  It’s part of my heritage!  Started on my daddy’s – and grampa’s – knee, as a toddler.   Genesee, Standard Dry and Ballentine were my earliest malted barley brews.  I graduated to some – formerly – great Canadian brews.  Unfortunately, most of them aren’t what they used to be either.  I moved on to some great English and Irish beers and ales.  Ambers, Porters, and Stouts.  Also, some German, Belgian and Dutch beers.  Mainly Pilsners and Lagers.  Even a few good Asian beers.  I have some mixed feelings about the current craft beer craze, that’s been going on for the last few years.  It’s really kind of  more the recent trend, to all these “flavored” beers and the WAY overdone hoppy IPAs.  Ugh!  That crap is not even beer – or ale – to me.  I’ll tolerate a chocolate or coffee porter or stout, on occasion, but save the fruit for the sangria and punch.  They have no place in real beer, in my opinion.  A small amount of hops blends with the other ingredients that produce the beer/ale flavor, and act as a natural preservative.  The British created Indian Pale Ales – IPAs – when they found out that when they shipped traditional beers and ales to colonial India, they would usually arrive stale, or tasteless.  They added the extra hops, so when the beers and ales arrived they’d still be fresh and drinkable.  Today, that point is moot.  The craft beer folk just like to play around with various exotic hops to make the flavor of their beers stand out from traditional beers and ales.  But, they overdo it.  Hops are a kind of flower.  And, when you add too many hops you get a very flowery taste that, for me, just spoils the beer taste.  I’m of a generation where my mother used to wash my mouth out with soap, if she heard me swearing.  When I taste some of these hoppy brews I taste soap!  These craft people would do better to keeping it real.  Beer is the world’s oldest alcoholic beverage . . . for good reason.  Adding flavors, just because you can, has corrupted one of life’s simplest – and greatest – pleasures.

No new clue words today, but all of the jumbles seem to be new.  I didn’t struggle with any of them.  The answer letter layout was a dandy of a jumble.  It made for a great pun.  Great cartoon of some hipsters!  Enough with the overly bushy beards already!  And these ponytails and topknots have to go, too.  I guess yer uncle is a little cranky today.  Hey, you kids.  Git offa my lawn!  LOL!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


7 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 02/09/17”


  1. 1 haliburton76 February 9, 2017 at 9:42 pm

    You sound like a real beer enthusiast, UR! Suggestion for Jeff & Dave: a few more beer-themed words… SUDSY, FOAMY, HOPPY, STOUT …

  2. 2 unclerave February 9, 2017 at 11:02 pm

    I’ve got the belly to prove it, hal.

    🙂 — YUR

  3. 3 Damidwesterner February 10, 2017 at 12:31 am

    I got the answer quick; most all my drinking buddies think they’re comedians so I use Brew-haha a lot. 😀 REBUKE was the only clue word that I had to take some time with. Though CHOSEN did as well, but I got it right off when I first looked at it before printing the puzzle. When I got back to it, I forgot what word I came up with! 🙂

  4. 4 jenn February 11, 2017 at 8:11 pm

    UR, I bet you remember that Ballentine was Martin Crane’s favorite go-to drink on ‘Frasier’!

  5. 5 unclerave February 11, 2017 at 11:06 pm

    Until you mentioned it I had completely forgotten that little fact, jenn! Thanks for the reminder. Martin was the grounding factor in that family! — YUR

  6. 6 jenn February 16, 2017 at 7:09 pm

    Yes, he was- a perfect complement to Frasier and Niles!

  7. 7 LindaLee February 17, 2017 at 11:12 pm

    Never was much of a beer drinker. Early on I did it because it was an age think. But then my drink of choice ended up tequila–straight up. Might just be why I no longer drink … at all!! And, that is a good thing! 🙂

    Grand puzzler. I Went with brew-haha, BUT, thought it might be brew-ahha!

    Jenn, thanks for the reminder! Loved that show.

    Take care all! LL


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,514 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
February 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Blog Stats

  • 4,512,633 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


