Jumble Spoiler – 01/21/17

Image result for mr. ed

Visual Description:  Ed and Wilbur’s shodcast. 

SUHEO  =  HOUSE,  GIBON  =  BINGO,  HYAMME  =  MAYHEM,  VIRRED  =  DRIVER   —   Giving us:  HOEBOMHEDIV

Clue/Question:  He replaced his horse’s shoes because it – – – 

Image result for horse hooves

Answer:  BEHOOVED HIM

(A horse apples pun!  Smells like . . . victory, to me.  Surprisingly, we have a new clue word today in “bingo”.  Our good friend, ralis95, can add this to his world famous clue word database.  I thought the jumble for it, “gibon”, was pretty challenging.  I was leaning towards “boing”, as in the springy sound effect, but held off on it.  I essentially backed into bingo.  Generally, I’m too lazy to write out different letter combinations.  David’s answer letter layout, even without the B and O from bingo, was enough for me to get the answer.  Especially, with Jeff’s great cartoon!  My two biggest weaknesses for the cartoons are animals and classic TV shows, so Jeff scores big points for today’s cartoon, in my book.  Just a couple weeks ago, when various TV shows were doing their In Memoriams for 2016, I saw Alan Young, who played Wilbur Post on the Mr. Ed show.  I didn’t realize that he made it all the way to 96!  My brother and I were big big fans of the show.  It’s one of 3 shows whose theme songs are permanently seared into my brain.  The Mr. Ed theme, the Beverly Hillbillies‘ theme, and Gilligan’s Island theme are all completely unforgettable to me.  Great Jumble, guys!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

PS.  Hey, boss!  Did you catch “tugged” from a couple of days ago?  I listed it as a new clue word, but failed to reference your database . . . I think.  Just didn’t want you to miss it.     YUR

PPS.  I just found out that Connie Hines, who played Wilbur’s wife Carol, is also buried at Westwood Village Memorial Park Cemetery, in downtown LA.  Next time I go there I’ll stop by and visit with her.     YUR


26 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 01/21/17”


  1. 1 ralis95 January 21, 2017 at 1:57 pm

    Yeah, I got both TUGGED AND BINGO. But, I also added BOING, because it’s been around since the active days of WWII – meaning what a soldier’s eyes did when they saw a beautiful woman. That increases the total multi-word answer list to 42.

  2. 2 unclerave January 21, 2017 at 2:06 pm

    Aah! Then technically Mr. Hoyt made a mistake, as BOING does seem to be a legitimate word. I’m sure he’s gonna love hearing this! LOL. Glad you’re on the ball, boss. — YUR

  3. 3 Lindalee January 21, 2017 at 3:12 pm

    Ralis!!!! Sooooo glad to see you!!!!

    For what it’s worth, my handy dandy Spelling Ace does not show BOING as a word. But, it is a newer edition from a couple of years ago. Merriam-Webster does not agree with The Ace–it failed me! I’m glad BOING was not the correct word as I would have kept looking for another word thinking The Ace was correct. Lesson learned. LL

  4. 4 jenn January 21, 2017 at 4:11 pm

    I enthusiastically went with BOING! Great word! …Until it wasn’t the right word. =) Of course, my letters didn’t make sense, even after I assumed the last word had to be HIM. Scooby-ing letters around, I managed to come up with BEHOOVED. I’m also a big classic tv fan, loved Mr. Ed! Today’s jumble and hoof picture makes me miss the days when I had the blessing of taking care of horses. What an interesting fact about Alan and Connie from Mr. Ed, wow. And howdy to ralis95, always on top of it! (Oh, to be special enough to be on the rare multi-word answer list, huh?) Terrific in-depth post, UR, and super Jumble, Jeff and David! Take care, all!

  5. 5 Art Shapiro January 21, 2017 at 7:47 pm

    i too figured it was BOING; anyone else remember the ancient TV show “Gerald McBoingBoing”?

  6. 6 DUBS January 21, 2017 at 10:26 pm

    FYI: Westwood Village Memorial Park is in Westwood, not downtown LA (1218 Glendon Ave, LA, CA 90024).

  7. 7 unclerave January 21, 2017 at 11:02 pm

    Mmmm, no. The show doesn’t ring any bells with me, Art. Maybe, it was a little before my time. Maybe ralis95 remembers it.

    — YUR

  8. 8 Lindalee January 21, 2017 at 11:23 pm

    Art, I don’t remember it. But, I googled it! Goodness, there are all kinds of things Gerald McBoingBoing that you can find. Kinda looks like a modern day cartoon. I love seeing things people remember!

  9. 9 unclerave January 21, 2017 at 11:31 pm

    I know LA is an immense city/county, DUBS. But to any visitor, Westwood – with it’s skyscrapers – would constitute part of “downtown” LA. I’m sure there are political designations for various neighborhoods and such, but I used the word “downtown” more generically. I mean, I wouldn’t have referred to Santa Monica as downtown LA. I’m 100% certain you are correct, but I see it as more of a hair-splitting technicality. But, thanks for setting me straight!

    — YUR

  10. 10 Damidwesterner January 21, 2017 at 11:52 pm

    I went with Boing. But I always worry if there are more than one word that can be spelled by the jumble and if the cartoon answer is unknown to me, I wouldn’t know which word will be the right one.

  11. 11 jenn January 22, 2017 at 12:20 pm

    Art, I do remember the Dr. Seuss book, Gerald McBoing Boing!

  12. 12 unclerave January 22, 2017 at 12:43 pm

    Even though ralis95 says the *more than one word* list has grown to 42, I still feel that most of the *alternatives* on the list are probably the more non-standard words, whether they’re archaic, or even newer quasi-questionable words. Hoyt does a very good job of giving us jumbles that can/should only spell one word. We’re probably talking about 1%, or less, of all the jumbles. I wouldn’t worry about it if I were you, Damid.

    — YUR

  13. 13 Jumble Jeff January 22, 2017 at 1:53 pm

    I blame David for besmirching my beautiful artwork. Whadayagoingtodo?

  14. 14 David L. Hoyt January 23, 2017 at 10:17 am

    Hi! Here’s the scoop on BINGO/BOING. First of all, oops! That was a mistake…but there is a bit of story behind this. I tracked down what happened. For some reason BOING is coming up as slang and not an actual word, so the word didn’t show up in our checker program. In fact, as I type this now, BOING is showing up as a misspelled word in spell check. How odd. I certainly consider BOING to be a word. I’ve taken BINGO/BOING out of my database. I’m a bit confused as to why BOING is not showing up as an actual word. It certainly seems like an actual word to me. That’s the scoop as to what happened. I’m curious when something like this will happen next. I’m sure it will happen again at some point. Thanks for playing Jumble in spite of these bumps in the road that are bound to happen from time to time.

    — David L. Hoyt

    http://www.DavidLHoyt.com

  15. 15 DUBS January 23, 2017 at 6:29 pm

    Re Downtown LA: Your reaction surprised me. The so called Wilshire corridor does no downtown make.
    When you live here, the difference is not hairsplitting! The traffic makes it only too real.
    Thanks for continuing your comments on the jumbles!
    I am doing the jumbles as a brain exercise by memorizing them for the next day.
    Is the ralis95 database accessible?

  16. 16 Lindalee January 23, 2017 at 9:47 pm

    Thank you Mr. Hoit. I just googled the definition of BOING — some strange stuff I didn’t want to see came up, but also found the following! So, BOING is rather a mystery!

    BOING
    image: http://cf.ydcdn.net/1.0.1.66/images/dictionaries/websters5.jpg

    a sound suggesting a reverberation or vibration, as of a rebounding metal spring
    Origin of boing
    echoic
    Webster’s New World College Dictionary Copyright © 2010 by Wiley Publishing, Inc., Cleveland, Ohio.
    Used by arrangement with John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
    Read more at http://www.yourdictionary.com/boing#XEj2pt5tKPdZggZc.99

  17. 17 unclerave January 24, 2017 at 1:12 am

    Let’s just leave it at: it’s in the heart of the city, DUBS. And, it’s a gem. I’m sorry to say that the ralis95 clue word database is maintained by the creator, ralis95, and a very few read only files have been distributed to David L. Hoyt, myself, and perhaps a couple of others. There is another gentleman, who occasionally comments, who maintains his personal database as well, but he has not offered it to me.

    — YUR

  18. 18 vnatraj1 January 24, 2017 at 1:48 pm

    I thought it was BOING too, but I knew it wasn’t the answer since the online puzzle didn’t accept it. Thankfully, I saw BINGO quickly. The rest was straightforward for me.

  19. 19 jenn January 24, 2017 at 4:31 pm

    Hi Vijay, what a treat to see your post- it just isn’t the same without your thoughts and speed-of-light puzzle-solving! Hope all is exceedingly well in your neck of the woods!

  20. 20 Lindalee January 24, 2017 at 6:20 pm

    Vjay! You are back. We’ve been wondering about you. I figured more travel?? LL

  21. 21 vnatraj1 January 25, 2017 at 2:56 pm

    Thanks Jenn, LL. 🙂 How are you all doing? I missed you all too. It was some travel end of last year, and then grant proposal writing, fun with family and friends over the holidays and some illness (myself and my son after that). Guess what, when I just got back to solving the late Nov to Dec Jumbles, my times were SIGNIFICANTLY WORSE. Not sure if those Jumbles were harder (yet to look at the posts from UR and you all) or if I was rusty from the long break. Back to normal now. 🙂 I have only had one Jumble so far this year where I took longer than 30 seconds.

  22. 22 LindaLee January 26, 2017 at 4:58 pm

    Hey Vijay, good here. I’ve had the flu too. Still tired from it!!

    Thirty seconds…..it takes me longer than that to look at the first jumbled word!! Glad to see you around! LL

  23. 23 jenn January 30, 2017 at 6:48 pm

    LL and Vijay, hope you both are feeling like Tigger on caffeine by now…flu and holiday illnesses always seem to go on forever. V, glad most of your away time were positive and happy times- life is busy! And glad you’re back in the saddle, here at the Jumble watering hole!

  24. 24 LindaLee January 30, 2017 at 10:31 pm

    Hey Jenn. Thanks!!! Doing better here. Didn’t need a nap today…that is progress! LL

  25. 25 unclerave January 31, 2017 at 2:58 pm

    Get well, Double L! That’s an order! LOL! — YUR

  26. 26 LindaLee January 31, 2017 at 11:43 pm

    😉 LL


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,526 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
January 2017
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 4,586,276 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


