Jumble Spoiler – 01/20/17

Related image

Visual Description:  Creepy crawly nightmare.

LOGIO  =  IGLOO,  SMOTP  =  STOMP,  GUCATH  =  CAUGHT,  BOWLEB  =  WOBBLE   —   Giving us:  OOSAUGBB

Clue/Question:  Now that the exterminator’s home was overrun with the ghosts of insects, it had – – –

Related image

Answer:  BUGABOOS

(I kind of expected some hyphens with this answer.  As in BUG-A-BOOS.  The definition of the word definitely makes the answer work.  But, I think it might’ve been punnier with the hyphens.  It’s definitely not that common a word.  I’m wondering if this was a difficult solve for some who aren’t that familiar with the word?  There were no new clue words today, but three of the jumbles came up as new.  The guys have used “logio” before.  The answer letter layout didn’t give anything away.  The cartoon is a little reminiscent of the CBS summer series:  Brain Dead.  It was a very amusing story about extraterrestrial ants eating the brains of Washington politicians.  It was smart and quirky, with a great cast  The heroine of the story was played by Mary Elizabeth Winstead.  An extremely attractive actress.  I know I missed a few episodes, and probably even the finale.  Maybe I can Hulu it!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


4 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 01/20/17”


  1. 1 Lindalee January 21, 2017 at 3:04 pm

    BUGABOOS!! i saw the answer pretty quickly, and just as quickly dismissed it. I’ve heard the term, but never thought it was a word!!!! But, since I could find nothing else, I grabbed my handy Ace Spelling thingy and found it was the word! Good jumbler all around!

    Never got into Brain Dead Unc. Ants eating brains….not for me! I remember an early 70s horrifying NIght Gallery episode where a caterpillar entered through a man’s ear and worked his way through to come out the other ear. They tied him done and the pain he endured as off the chart. He lived and that was unheard of….but then the doc who was ministering to the man realized it was a female caterpillar and that she had laid eggs on her journey through is head. TERRIFYING!!!!!

    Take care all!!!! Think I’ll probably be sleeping with cotton in my ears. OMG, can cotton balls contain boll weevils????? EGAD! LL

  2. 2 unclerave January 21, 2017 at 10:58 pm

    I remember that Night Gallery episode, LindaLee. But, that was SERIOUS scary. Brain Dead was more of a goof, and a social commentary of today’s political polarization. — YUR

  3. 3 Lindalee January 21, 2017 at 11:26 pm

    Yes it was seriously scary. Guess that is why I remember it so well. I remember when they told him about the eggs! OMG! Thanks for the info on Brain Dead. I had no clue what it was about.

    I do have cotton balls in my ears!! 🙂
    LL

  4. 4 vnatraj1 January 24, 2017 at 3:51 pm

    This was easy for me. No issues with any of the words or the final answer. ghosts -> BOO, insects -> BUG.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,528 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
January 2017
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 4,598,337 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


