Jumble Spoiler – 10/20/16

Image result for jewels

Visual Description:  Armed delivery.

JOTSI  =  JOIST,  LEERD  =  ELDER,  WLOOLH  =  HOLLOW,  ENISCC  =  SCENIC   —   Giving us:  JOSEDEHLWCEN

Clue/Question:  The delivery of diamonds, rubies and emeralds arrived at the store – – –

Image result for joist definition

Answer:  ON “SCHED-JEWEL”

(What, no sapphires???  Great pun!  Even made me think for about half a minute.  No new clue words, but three of the jumbles were new.  They’ve used “leerd” before.  It always throws me a little when they use the word “joist”.  It’s a word that certain professions know, like architects and construction people.  But, it’s not really a widely used word.  The answer letter layout was another wonderful jumble.  Great clues in the cartoon!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


5 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 10/20/16”


  1. 1 vnatraj1 October 20, 2016 at 1:25 pm

    Ah, the importance of order! I figured out ON and JEWEL almost right away, but had JEWEL as the first part of the word in quotes (I couldn’t think any word – even one that was made up – could end with JEWEL) and then just couldn’t unscramble SDHCE to get anything sensible. On and on I thought, for more than two minutes, when it finally struck me that JEWEL probably was the second part and then I almost immediately got SCHED. The pun finally struck me – schedule! Really nice pun! The clue words didn’t give me any problems.

  2. 2 jenn October 20, 2016 at 3:26 pm

    I love the ‘play-on-words’ solutions! Always makes me think even harder. I would have been up a creek without the clues in the cartoon. For some odd reason, jumbles with the letter ‘j’ in them quite frequently trip me up- you’d think the solution would pop right out with that particular letter. But, got it in a ‘jiffy’ today!

  3. 3 Damidwesterner October 20, 2016 at 11:55 pm

    SCENIC took some time, but once I got it, I could figure out the answer. I go for the short word first, I knew it had to be like AN, ON, AT, NO, stuff like that. Then it was to a word with the W, JEWEL. That left SDHCE, and a little fiddling got the rest. 😀

  4. 4 vnatraj1 October 21, 2016 at 11:58 am

    You have a J in your name, Jenn. That letter is a part of you. 😉

  5. 5 jenn October 21, 2016 at 9:31 pm

    Aw, Vijay, I love that thought! =)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,557 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 4,920,879 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


