Jumble Spoiler – 10/19/16

Image result for elementary school class

Visual Description:  Demanding Math class!

DUEGN  =  NUDGE,  NERDT  =  TREND,  NINBUO  =  BUNION,  MUURQO  =  QUORUM   —   Giving us:  NDETREBUOUM

Clue/Question:  The teacher was happy that those who did poorly on the math test were – – –

Image result for elementary school class

Answer:  OUTNUMBERED

(Hey!  When I was a kid, there were some math classes where I’d have been ecstatic to get a C.  Once upon a time a C stood for average.  And, a D was certainly not great, but at least it was passing.  I guess in today’s paradigm As and Bs are expected, and Cs are considered doing “poorly”.  My daughter gives out plenty of Ds and Fs.  She doesn’t coddle her students, like a lot of today’s teachers.  She’s a bit of a throwback that way. 

None of today’s clue words were new, but there were some we haven’t seen in quite a while, like “quorum” and “bunion”.  Three of the jumbles were new, but we’ve seen “nerdt” before.  The answer letter layout was another dandy of a jumble!  I was a little slow on the uptake, and was looking for UNDER something, or something UNDER, for a minute or two.  Then the cartoon and clue/question finally sunk in, and I realized it had to be OUTNUMBERED.  Great cartoon and great Jumble.  So far, Monday’s looks to be the toughest of the week.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


7 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 10/19/16”


  1. 1 jenn October 19, 2016 at 1:30 pm

    UR, I also thought ‘under’ had to be in the solution. I went through every math/grade related word I could think of, my brain short-circuited, and I had to leave the puzzle alone. Came back about an hour later and got the solution almost immediately! Btw, the football jersey, (and possibly the boy wearing it), is of a local football team’s player here in our area. Pretty cool if you’re him! =)

  2. 2 vnatraj1 October 19, 2016 at 1:58 pm

    Nice Jumble! I saw the final answer right away (maybe because Math is my favorite subject), but a couple of the clue words were not easy solves. I thought that NINBUO was a great jumble, although NUDGE was the word that took me the longest time. It is there in my “tougher words” list for a reason. There have been at least four different variants of the word so far (UNGED, GUNDE, UGEND, DUEGN) but I have difficulty every time. Somehow, I always think of DUNGE first (confusing it with DUNCE perhaps?). I agree, Monday was the toughest Jumble of the week so far.

  3. 3 unclerave October 19, 2016 at 5:54 pm

    Really, Jenn? I couldn’t figure out who, or what team. Please enlighten us! — YUR

  4. 4 jenn October 19, 2016 at 8:52 pm

    Oh, sure. It’s Jackson Lantz, #35, plays for Hamilton Southeastern High School. I wondered if it was our local HSE on the jersey sleeve and thought I’d check it out. He’s listed as a WR and DB, and is a sophomore. Sounds like a terrific player. HSE beat us already this year…we play them in first round sectionals next week, and guessing they might well win again. The circle of football, er, life..ha. =)

  5. 5 jenn October 20, 2016 at 8:25 am

    (PS, UR, you probably already know Jeff is (or was) from Fishers, where HSE is, I just didn’t know if he was ok with that info being out there, so I erred on the side of privacy…no need to post this publicly either…just wanted to send further clarification of the jersey’s info origin to you. Have a super day! jenn)

  6. 6 Jumble Jeff October 20, 2016 at 10:20 am

    Wow! Nice catch, Jenn! Great kid.

  7. 7 jenn October 24, 2016 at 1:04 pm

    That is so nice to hear…and super that you honored him in a Jumble drawing! Wonder if he knows he’s famous? =) Say, good luck this week to HSE, and if it can’t be us, (and it won’t be, lol), it would be terrific for HSE to go all the way to State! Thanks as always for the great drawings..I appreciate the wide- ranging and imaginative pictures/subjects! Have a super week! jenn


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,558 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 4,926,359 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


