Jumble Spoiler – 10/01/16

Image result for elementary classroom

Visual Description:  Sum and difference.

LIPOS  =  SPOIL,  PURTE  =  ERUPT,  VONPER  =  PROVEN,  YETMSS  =  SYSTEM   —   Giving us:  SOLERROSEM

Clue/Question:  Her students were beginning to understand addition and subtraction . . . 

 

Image result for elementary classroom

Answer:  MORE OR LESS

(Not bad!  You know, there’s not a concise opposite to the word SUM!  It’s only used for addition.  For subtraction you have to go to DIFFERENCE.  Kinda strange, I think.  At least EQUAL goes both ways!  I really liked today’s jumbles.  They were all new, and were interesting/challenging.  Another thing that is strange to me is that you rarely see/hear them use the word “proven” anymore.  They use PROVED much more often these days, and I’m not sure why.  All of the clue words were already on the ralis95 clue word database.  The answer letter layout made for a fun jumble.  I had to think for a couple of seconds.  Cute classroom cartoon!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


2 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 10/01/16”


  1. 1 vnatraj1 October 2, 2016 at 8:20 pm

    8 seconds. SPOIL and ERUPT used to be in my “tough words” and “tougher words” lists, respectively, but not any more. I somehow feel that I could have gone even faster on this one.

  2. 2 LindaLee October 10, 2016 at 9:04 pm

    I have not really been AWOL…I just finally figured out SPOIL. Now, granted, I have not been trying to figure this out twenty four hours a day for over a week, but I have a whole page of diagramming trying to figure it out. Finally saw it today when I glanced at it. And I could not back into it because I could not figure out the answer! OY! Diabolically jumbled IMHO!! Great puzzler. So now, I’m working my way forward.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,528 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 4,598,337 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


