Jumble Spoiler – 09/19/16

Image result for cartoon mice

Visual Description:  I smell a rat!

SMOPT  =  STOMP,  SUPAE  =  PAUSE,  SPYIMK  =  SKIMPY,  TUQAEE  =  EQUATE   —   Giving us:  STOAUESIMQUAE

Clue/Question:  When Mickey needed to sneak back into the house, he was – – –

Image result for cartoon mice

Answer:  QUIET AS A MOUSE

(I like it!  Great pun.  No new clue words, but three of the jumbles appear to be new.  We’ve seen “smopt” before.  Impressive answer letter layout.  Nicely cryptic jumble.  The cartoon is a classic!  Minnie, sound asleep in the Barca-lounger, while a Mighty Mouse movie is playing.  And Mickey sneaking in after a night of . . . tom catting?  Very amusing.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


4 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 09/19/16”


  1. 1 LindaLee September 19, 2016 at 9:56 pm

    Tom catting ..heh, heh, heh!!! I love mighty mouse…here I come to save the day…….But, there were two might mice (?) mouses (?) … and I like the one you’ve pictured best Unc. LL

  2. 2 Damidwesterner September 19, 2016 at 11:31 pm

    Good one today. I thought the Mighty Mouse on TV was a good touch.

  3. 3 haliburton76 September 20, 2016 at 4:50 am

    MIGHTY MOUSE on the TV screen really was a nice touch! What else would mice be watching? Thanks, Jeff, it made me chuckle!

  4. 4 vnatraj1 September 20, 2016 at 11:03 am

    Very nice clue, and very poor on my part. The word Mickey in the clue should have immediately clued me in to MOUSE, but it didn’t. I tried ‘IN A’ for the middle words, only to realize there was no N. After 10-15 seconds of thought, I figured that the middle words were ‘AS A’. Right around then, the answer struck me. On the bright side, I had no trouble with any of the clue words. Lovely cartoon!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,565 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
September 2016
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 4,987,943 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


