Jumble Spoiler – 08/31/16

Image result for are bridge and euchre alike

Visual Description:  Team cards tournament.

HLIEW  =  WHILE,  LRUBB  =  BLURB,  RATEHH  =  HEARTH,  FRIDTA  =  ADRIFT   —   Giving us:  WLELBEARDIF

Clue/Question:  The Bridge pair argued constantly, so their opponents hoped they’d – – –

Image result for are bridge and euchre alike

Answer:  BID FAREWELL

(A fairly challenging solve, and a nice pun!  None of today’s clue words are new, but all of the jumbles came up as new.  I struggled to get “adrift”.  I thought I might be able to back into it, but without the DIF I wasn’t seeing the answer, at all.  At first I thought the answer was going to be ALL something!  But, I went back to the jumble and considered that the word did not need to start with a consonant, and finally saw “adrift”.  I don’t know if they’d be considered archaic, but words like adrift, afield, amiss, asea, astray, etc. just don’t come to me right away.  I know that I do use them, from time to time, but they also come off as a little poetic and Shakespearean.  And, you all know that I’m just yer average American couch potato!  Very good answer letter layout.  I really did need the DIF to solve the answer.  I think if you know nothing about Bridge – which I know very little of – today’s answer might have been a little tough.  I don’t think I’ve ever played the game, but I have played Euchre, which is supposedly similar.  I haven’t played Euchre probably in 30 some years!  Do many people still play team card games, or is it kind of a dying art?  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


8 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 08/31/16”


  1. 1 haliburton76 August 31, 2016 at 2:09 pm

    Yes, UR, anybody who’s ever played regular (contract) bridge knows that bidding is *everything,* and that the first word of the answer was likely to be BID. With that, the rest was like falling off a log. I’m trying to think if there are any other bridge terms that would lend themselves to punning. Maybe tenace. I’m sure Dave & Jeff will think of something!

  2. 2 unclerave August 31, 2016 at 7:29 pm

    Clearly, hal, you solved all of the jumbles prior to to going for the final answer. I think bidding is part of Euchre as well. But, like I said, it’s been ages since I played. — YUR

  3. 3 Damidwesterner September 1, 2016 at 12:12 am

    I had trouble with Hearth. And I also thought Bid was the first answer word. I didn’t really have time to work this today so that was as far as i got.

  4. 4 vnatraj1 September 4, 2016 at 10:25 am

    Bridge is my absolutely favorite card game, and a brilliant one at that. The way it is played, there is almost no luck. And yes, bidding is everything. And yet, I took a while to get “BID”. Once I did, the answer was evident. I also guessed RATHER first, as I have done in the past. Then, I realized there were two H’s and got HEARTH. Nice Jumble!

  5. 5 vnatraj1 September 7, 2016 at 3:50 pm

    Hal, perhaps finesse, or slam?

  6. 6 LindaLee September 10, 2016 at 12:51 pm

    I was so happy to figure this one out, because I’m not a bridge player, so I was a tad intimidated. But, fortunately, saw BID right away and the rest came easily.

    We used to play ROOK a lot, and poker. Fun times.

    Euchre…I dated a dude one time that talked about playing Euchre all the time. One night I told him that he needed to teach me so that we could play. He answered me with something like: oh, you’d never understand the game. I bid him farewell!!! LL

  7. 7 unclerave September 10, 2016 at 3:11 pm

    It’s not an easy game. That’s all I’ll say! — YUR

  8. 8 LindaLee September 10, 2016 at 4:00 pm

    Unc, that made me laugh out loud!!!

    Love this block! LL


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,528 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 4,598,337 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


