Sunday Jumble (Failure) – 08/28/16

Image result for dogs at work

Visual Description:  How our guys work. (With canine inspiration?)

CIYIOD  =  IDIOCY,  MBENUR  =  NUMBER,  MICONE  =  INCOME,  NARPIS  =  SPRAIN,  SSALPH  =  SPLASH,  NLUUGP  =  UNPLUG   —   Giving us:  DONUOMPAISPHNG

Clue/Question:  To make a Jumble play on words understandable, the creators need – – –

Pre-Answer:  Two Words  (4-letters)  “(10-letters)”

Image result for dogs at work

Answer:  PUNS  something with DOG, or DOGS something with PUN?    Aah!  GOOD “PUNMANSHIP”!!!  Many thanks to Sue Law (first) and to all the other responders.  Although, Sue DID jump the gun a bit.  I generally don’t like people sending in unsolicited “answers”, but she lucked out that I had already thrown in the towel on this one! (She replied to Saturday’s as I was constructing today’s.)      YUR

(And, I have no idea what the answer is, folks!  The clue words are all old favorites, but four of the jumbles are coming up as new.  We’ve seen both “narpis” and “ssalph” in the past.  I was able to get all the clue words instantly, but the answer just isn’t coming to me.  The answer letter layout isn’t giving me anything.  I’m just figuring from the wording of the Clue/Question – “play on words” – that PUN, or PUNS, has to be part of it.  And, from the great cartoon, that DOG, or DOGS, has to be somehow part of it.  I’m just unable to put it all together at this point.  I’m sure the word “understandable” in the Clue/Question is probably a key as well, but I’m not there yet.  Are many of you struggling with this, or is it just me???  Feel free to blurt out the answer, if you know it.  I don’t have time to work on this.  Be well and do good friends.)   —  YUR

PS.  The pink-nosed golden reminds me of my Ginger!      YUR


17 Responses to “Sunday Jumble (Failure) – 08/28/16”


  1. 2 Anonymous August 28, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    Good Punmanship

  2. 3 Sheryl August 28, 2016 at 1:36 pm

    Me neither, can’t figure it out

  3. 4 Tom Kessler August 28, 2016 at 2:05 pm

    I feel relieved today, that some of you sometimes do not get the puzzle. My father was a Jumble Follower, I wish I had asked him if he missed a word or the puzzle once in a while.

  4. 5 Anonymous August 28, 2016 at 2:13 pm

    Thank you jazscissiors and Anonymous.
    Wheeler

  5. 6 Kevin August 28, 2016 at 2:13 pm

    Good punmanship

  6. 7 Billmets August 28, 2016 at 3:04 pm

    Good Punmanship

  7. 8 Marie August 28, 2016 at 9:26 pm

    Sometimes,I just get completely sidetracked. The picture did not help at all. Got the good,but not the “punmanship.”

  8. 9 Anne Jory August 28, 2016 at 11:01 pm

    I got it after awhile but it didn’t come right away. Love your blog though and always read it even if I know the answers !

  9. 10 unclerave August 29, 2016 at 9:52 am

    Thank you, Anne! I appreciate your business! — YUR

  10. 11 unclerave August 29, 2016 at 10:40 am

    Marie,

    I felt that both the picture and the dialog were indicating that the word DOG, or DOGS, was somehow going to be part of the answer. I knew PUN was in there somewhere too, but the pic was leading me down the pooch path. And, that ended up being a dead end!

    — YUR

  11. 12 Patrick Davis August 30, 2016 at 8:17 am

    good “penmanship”

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

  12. 13 unclerave August 30, 2016 at 9:13 am

    Hey, Patrick! I think your phone’s auto-correct must have kicked in. The answer was GOOD PUNMANSHIP.

    — YUR

  13. 14 Martin Kahl August 30, 2016 at 9:58 am

    I was close to the answer..i came up with..”good upmanship ” as in one outdoing the other…BUT…i had one letter left over…so i knew it was wrong

  14. 15 vnatraj1 September 1, 2016 at 8:37 am

    I got this pretty quickly. I knew PUN had to be part of the answer, and then I saw SHIP and GOOD. With these, I was able to see the answer.

  15. 16 aston nairne September 5, 2016 at 8:46 am

    Did you get the answer yet

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

  16. 17 LindaLee September 6, 2016 at 4:31 pm

    Got it today! Had good, then had the husb check the blog because I had “upmanship,” which made no sense. The I was advised tp recheck the letters I’d brought down from the clue words. I was missing a N. So, then he told me I had two letters that needed to be swapped. VOILA, GOOD PUNMANSHIP! Absolutely grand puzzler!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,526 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 4,588,280 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


