Jumble Spoiler – 08/16/16

English: Chili half-smoke at Ben's Chili Bowl,...

English: Chili half-smoke at Ben’s Chili Bowl, Washington, D.C. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  Shore food vendor.

ZDYZI  =  DIZZY,  RHNOO  =  HONOR,  TIFEDT  =  FITTED,  GGELIG  =  GIGGLE   —   Giving us:  DIYHOOITTDGGG

Clue/Question:  After he bit into the tasty frankfurter, he said – – –

Chili half smoke with chips from Ben's Chili B...

Chili half smoke with chips from Ben’s Chili Bowl, Washington, D.C. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  HOT DIGGITY DOG

(And, of course WordPress does not recognize the legitimacy of diggity!  Goddamn Limeys!  It’s an American world, chaps!  Deal with it, yo!  LOL!  Okay.  The word IS of dubious distinction, but it’s certainly not a new word.  Just like there were no new clue words today.  But, all of the jumbles came up as new!  It took me a few seconds to see “fitted”.  I was thinking “fettid”, but that’s one T too many.  The answer letter layout was definitely a little different today.  I can’t tell if it would have helped those who aren’t familiar with the phrase, or not.  I saw it right away.  I dug the cartoon, because it’s a great summertime scene.  Grabbing a dog – while walking your dog – down by the shore.  I love hotdogs, but I’ve always heard that Chicago puts a lot of . . . stuff on their dogs.  I don’t dig that.  Purists insist on mustard, but I’m like a little kid, that only likes ketchup on them.  But, I do love chili-dogs!  And, when I eat chili-dogs I’ve been known to occasionally allow for onions, and/or jalapenos, and/or real cheese.  NOT that cheese “sauce”.  That stuff skeeves me.  Hopefully, it’s not too hot and humid where you are.  We are definitely in the dog days of summer!  It’s been brutal here.  It’s the hottest summer I’ve ever experienced!  Be well . . . try to stay cool and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


4 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 08/16/16”


  1. 1 haliburton76 August 16, 2016 at 10:32 am

    I love ’em, too, UR! And this one was immediately apparent, although the chosen spelling, DIGGITY, is arbitrary; dictionary.com spells it HOT DIGGETY, with variants ZIGGETY or ZIGGITY. However, it always sounds exactly as transcribed by Dave & Jeff.

  2. 2 vnatraj1 August 16, 2016 at 3:26 pm

    I had some trouble with the final answer today. I initially thought that the middle word was HOGGITY, but that gave me DITDOG as the remaining letters. I tried a few combinations but nothing made sense. Then, it struck me that the answer could be HOT DOGGITY DOG, but that would need an extra O and one less I. Finally, I figured out that it should be HOT DIGGITY DOG. Clearly, I need to brush up on these colloquialisms. FITTED gave me some trouble too.

  3. 3 Damidwesterner August 16, 2016 at 11:09 pm

    I’ll Third the difficulty with FITTED. Took a couple of looks. The answer came fairly quickly, though like Hal, I originally thought the second I would be an E. I guess I should have thought back to the Jumble from the other day and stuck with the I before the E. 😀

  4. 4 LindaLee September 10, 2016 at 1:03 pm

    Love the dog too! That chili half and half looks wonderful.

    VJ–I wondered if you’d have a bit of trouble with that “saying.” LL


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,549 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 4,752,605 hits

Recent Comments

unclerave on Jumble Spoiler – 06…
Anonymous on Jumble Spoiler – 06…
haliburton76 on Cryptoquote Spoiler –…
unclerave on Jumble Spoiler – 07…
LindaLee on Jumble Spoiler – 07…

Member of The Internet Defense League


