Jumble Spoiler – 08/13/16

Visual Description:  The flying fishermen?

ZISEE  =  SEIZE,  CEILR  =  RELIC,  ULUYNR  =  UNRULY,  UTXODE  =  TUXEDO   —   Giving us:  SERERULE

Clue/Question:  The fisherman thought he’d hooked a huge one.  It didn’t take long until he was – – –

English: Fisherman in a canoe at sunset

English: Fisherman in a canoe at sunset (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  REEL SURE

(Love it!  It’s a classic stinky pun.  There were no new clue words today, however three of the jumbles came up as new.  We’ve definitely seen “zisee” before.  I can’t swear we’ve never seen “ceilr” before, but I do know it’s the alpha order jumble of “relic”.  Does anyone know why “seize” doesn’t follow that whole I before E except after C rule?  English is such a wacky language!  The answer letter layout made for a fun jumble, too.  I just helped my daughter buy a couple of rods and reels just a few days ago.  I think they had no luck fishing, but they were successful clamming!  Fun cartoon.  When I was a kid, I used to watch this character named Gadabout Gaddis and his fishing show, The Flying Fisherman.  I think it was the forerunner of all fishing shows.  Nothing slick about the show’s production, but Gadabout made it entertaining.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


2 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 08/13/16”


  1. 1 Damidwesterner August 13, 2016 at 10:36 pm

    When I was a kid, our favorite comment to “I before E except after C” was ‘Oh yeah? Explain Science!” 😀

  2. 2 vnatraj1 August 16, 2016 at 2:58 pm

    Nice one, Damid! UR, maybe because the S in SEIZE sounds like C? Today was not one of my better days. TUXEDO took a little thought. UNRULY and SEIZE have given be trouble in the past but I got them instantly this time. They are gone from my “tough words” list. TUXEDO has taken their place. The final answer should have been easy but I just couldn’t figure out REEL even though it was obvious from the cartoon. After about 20 seconds of thought, I got SURE and that led to REEL. Nice pun!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,550 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 4,772,718 hits

Recent Comments

unclerave on Jumble Spoiler – 02…
Amit Sarawgi on Jumble Spoiler – 02…
unclerave on Jumble Spoiler – 07…
unclerave on Jumble Spoiler – 07…
unclerave on Jumble Spoiler – 07…

Member of The Internet Defense League


