Jumble Spoiler – 08/12/16

Visual Description:  Looking lousy on the links.

VORBA  =  BRAVO, MILTI  =  LIMIT,  DYIMAD  =  MIDDAY,  SENSUL  =  UNLESS   —   Giving us:  AVLIIDDLES

Clue/Question:  Following his friend’s advice instead of seeing his doctor was – – –

English: The driving range High fencing to pro...

English: The driving range High fencing to protect pedestrians. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  ILLADVISED

(Not a bad pun.  Reminds me a little of that one shingles medication commercial, where the guy – with shingles – is out at the driving range!  When you have the shingles as bad as that guy does, you have no business playing golf.  I had a guy who worked for me who had a bad case of shingles and he was out of work for a few weeks.  I’ve had one flare up of shingles, and so has my wife, but we were fortunate that they were constrained to a fairly small area, and were nowhere’s near as bad as the poor people you see in the commercials.

All of the clue words are old favorites.  A couple of the jumbles were new, but we’ve seen both “milti” and “sensul” in the past.  The answer letter layout was a beautiful jumble.  It’s a little unusual to have a form of the answer word in the clue/question, but not unheard of.  That’s a heck of a hat the one duffer is wearing!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


4 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 08/12/16”


  1. 1 Damidwesterner August 12, 2016 at 9:53 pm

    MIDDAY gave me pause, as I wasn’t sure it was a valid word in a Jumble puzzle. That’s because I play another electronic word game that says they use regular and Scrabble dictionaries and I’ve input a word I know is a word but the game says it’s invalid (I usually add it into the personal dictionary).
    Anyway, I had shingles about 3 years ago, when I was on vacation visiting the folks. That was bad timing; had to go to urgent care to get a diagnosis and some meds. As it was out of area, but not an emergency, the HMO didn’t cover it. When I got home, went to see my Doc. The head nurse chided me for not getting a shingles shot, until she realized I wasn’t 60 yet.
    And I had a lot of the office staff troop in because most had not seen a shingles case before. 😀

  2. 2 unclerave August 13, 2016 at 9:51 am

    I’m guessing you can get shingles over and over again, but I’m not sure. If that’s the case, I’ll have to strongly consider the vaccination, when I turn 60!

    — YUR

  3. 3 Damidwesterner August 13, 2016 at 10:27 pm

    It’s not likely, but it can happen. If you got it when you were over 50, or your immune system is weak, it raises the chances. It’s rare to get it a third time.
    I asked my Doc about the vaccine, and she says it might be a good idea. It would only have been less than 5yrs, and it might be a 50-50 thing to get it or not. At the time, I asked about the vaccine and the comment was that I just had shingles so the immunity is fresh.

  4. 4 vnatraj1 August 16, 2016 at 2:49 pm

    MIDDAY took me a second and UNLESS took a few more seconds. For the second time this week, the clue had a word that appeared in some form in the final answer. I thought of ADVISE as a part of the final answer but didn’t immediately pencil it in. In the end I decided that it made sense to have ADVISED as the second part of the final answer. The first part followed easily.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,526 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 4,586,276 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


