Jumble Spoiler – 07/01/16

The is the companion element to the person car...

The is the companion element to the person carrying grapes shown in another picture. Also from the Church of Elias, Mary and Soreg in Jerash. Dates from around the end of the 500’s AD. Flickr data on 2011-07-29: Camera: Pentax K-x Tags: jordan, amman, mosaic, byzantine, ancient, art License: CC BY 2.0 User: Ken and Nyetta Ken & Nyetta (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  Suburban vintner.

ACEDY  =  DECAY,  NAYIR  =  RAINY,  GONVIL  =  LOVING,  ABIBDE  =  BABIED   —   Giving us:  DYRNVIAE

Clue/Question:  He couldn’t afford a lot of property to grow wine grapes, so he settled for a – – –

English: Budweiser beverage delivery truck, Wa...

English: Budweiser beverage delivery truck, Wayne & Ecorse Roads, Romulus, Michigan (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  VINEYARD

(Not bad!  Not too tough, but a decent pun.  We actually have another new clue word today, in “loving”.  Hoyt is really keeping ralis95 busy this week!  The database continues to grow.  And, all of today’s jumbles came up as new.  I thought all of today’s jumbles were pretty good.  None of them jumped off the page for me.  Commendable answer letter layout.  Nothing obvious about it.  Nice suburban cartoon, with a lawn mower and fence, and an entitled pesky neighbor.  It looks like there is some writing on his beer can, but I can’t make out the name.  It might be American, or America.  American Beer is out of Pittsburgh.  The same people who make Iron City Beer.  I’ve never had it.  America Beer is what Budweiser has re-branded itself, at least for this summer.  Bud is reliable, though not really my cup of tea.  I prefer ambers, porters and stouts.  I’m not a fan of the IPAs, though they’re really big with the hipsters.  They are all too hoppy for my tastes.  Hops are very flowery, and to me they just make the beer taste like soap.  So, I’ll let all you hipster beer drinkers have all the additional flowery hops.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


5 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 07/01/16”


  1. 1 vnatraj1 July 1, 2016 at 12:37 pm

    Right on, UR. The words weren’t tough, but none jumped off the page for me either. BABIED took a little longer than the rest (I thought thought it was ABIDED, until I realized there were two B’s and one D). For the final answer, I knew one of the parts would be VINE but I could not get anything sensible from DYRA for a few seconds (I thought of DRAY-VINE or VINE-DRAY, neither of which made any sense). Then, VINE-YARD just occurred to me. Duh! What was I thinking?

  2. 2 Damidwesterner July 1, 2016 at 11:53 pm

    BABIED was a toughie for me. And I just couldn’t see the answer, though I thought one of the words would be VINE. I was actually going down VJs path, YARD just didn’t jump out to me. This time, the out of order sequence of clue letters might have messed me up; mine today was RNVIDYAE, when DYRNVIAE might have worked better. Ah well….

  3. 3 unclerave July 2, 2016 at 10:37 am

    I think that “might have” is the operative phrase, Damid. It is possible that my *method* has influenced David L. Hoyt somewhat, but he knows that lots of people set up the answer letters differently. I just think that VINE-YARD – from VINEYARD – was a little too obvious, and we all tend to overthink things, from time to time.

    — YUR

  4. 4 haliburton76 July 2, 2016 at 11:44 am

    It *was* a little obvious, UR. I pulled out VINE YARD and thought, is that all there is? Is that a pun? But, if those are Cab grapes, I’ll drink to that!

  5. 5 unclerave July 2, 2016 at 1:45 pm

    🙂 — YUR


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,562 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
July 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 4,992,221 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


