(Great) Jumble Spoiler – 06/29/16

Pittsburgh Penguins vs. San Jose Sharks

Pittsburgh Penguins vs. San Jose Sharks (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  2016 NHL Champs?

TIWAA  =  AWAIT,  EMVON  =  VENOM,  MAREYC  =  CREAMY,  HERRAD  =  HARDER   —   Giving us:  AAIVENCAYHDE

Clue/Question:  When the penguin left to hang out with his buddies, his wife said – – –

Mellon Arena in downtown Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Mellon Arena in downtown Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  HAVE AN “ICE” DAY

(This is such a silly pun.  Ya just gotta love it!  Not particularly difficult, but a lot of fun.  All the clue words were old favorites.  But, three of the jumbles came up as new.  Mr. Hoyt has used “herrad” before.  The answer letter layout was a marvelous jumble.  Nicely cryptic.  But, it’s the great cartoon that brings it all together.  The hubby penguin is sitting on the eggs.  They’re in an igloo, sitting at an ice table, while two of his buddy penguins wait for him at the door, with hockey sticks!  The Pittsburgh Penguins defeated the San Jose Sharks, 4 games to 2, to become the 2016 NHL Champions, just a couple of weeks ago.  The ironic thing is the Penguins used to play in an arena that was known as “The Igloo”.  The old Civic Arena was in use between 1967 and 2010.  It has since been torn down, but I was fortunate enough to see the Penguins play there back in 1976.  Don’t ask me who they played, or if they won, because that was a L O N G time ago, folks!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

PS.  To “Tony Hawk”, who commented on a Jumble from 2014.  Your comment WAS very relevant to the post, but I make it a point NOT to “approve” comments on posts that old.  I would make an exception IF you were a regular follower/commenter, who had previously commented on something more recent, but the majority of comments that come up on these older posts are spammers.  So, I hope you understand my concern.  If you comment on something current, I’d be happy to “approve” that.  I’ll hold on to your comment for another week, and if you DO comment on something current then I’ll reconsider “approving” the older comment.     YUR


4 Responses to “(Great) Jumble Spoiler – 06/29/16”


  1. 1 vnatraj1 June 29, 2016 at 12:03 pm

    Cute pun! I thought of HAVE A NICE DAY right away, and as I was typing HAVE AN (and wondering why the second word had two letters as opposed to obe), the pun dawned on me. I had a LOT of trouble with CREAMY, though. That alone took around 35 of my 40 second solve time. It is in my “toughest words” list for a reason. VENOM was in my “tougher words” list and has been taken off the list now. 🙂

  2. 2 Damidwesterner June 30, 2016 at 12:00 am

    HARDER was the toughest word of the four, but I had to pause on AWAIT since it was a rare word for me. I’m more used to awaiting.

    I usually write down the clue letters as I get the words so my answer letter layout doesn’t really match what UR has. Sometimes I get a better clue to the answer.

  3. 3 unclerave June 30, 2016 at 10:16 am

    There really are no hard and fast rules here, Damid. I’ve got my own little routine that I adhere to, but it’s generally whatever works for the individual.

    — YUR

  4. 4 Sabreen August 24, 2016 at 2:00 am

    This is a clever jumble thing i love it


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,541 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog

Blog Stats

  • 4,686,728 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


