(Tough) Jumble Spoiler – 06/22/16

Visual Description:  A taverner’s largesse.

BROTI  =  ORBIT,  UYOSP  =  SOUPY,  TUSHIA  =  HIATUS,  YGANIS  =  SAYING   —   Giving us:  ORBSOPITUING

Clue/Question:  They loved the new wine bar and its – – –

Wine Glass

Wine Glass (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  BIG POURTIONS

(It took me a little time to solve today’s Jumble.  Two of the jumbles came to me right away, but the other two made me think.  One was because we’ve never had “saying” as a clue word before.  Ralis95 can add this to his world famous clue word database.  The other is because . . . I always thought that the Kardashians were from “TUSHIA”.  The answer letter layout did a splendid job of keeping today’s answer a puzzlement.  I thought the first word was going to be either OUT or BIG, and I thought that the four letter portion was probably POUR, but I was erroneously thinking POUR-INGS for a while.  Because of the cartoon, with the over-sized wine glasses and the name on the window – Big Girl Bisto – I settled on BIG and POUR, which left me with SOITN.  Then the lights came on!  A nicely challenging Jumble, I thought.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


6 Responses to “(Tough) Jumble Spoiler – 06/22/16”


  1. 1 haliburton76 June 22, 2016 at 2:44 pm

    A tougher Jumble, to be sure! TUSHIA and YGANIS definitely required a second (and third) look. I *so* wanted to find GIN in the fourth word. Secret words were not too bad, once I sussed out BIG. Make mine a Cab, Dave & Jeff!

  2. 2 vnatraj1 June 22, 2016 at 3:40 pm

    I had a little bit of trouble with SAYING but the rest were instant. HIATUS has given me trouble in the past but my lists have helped. This word is now out of my tough words list. The final answer was brilliant, and a real toughie. I started with BAR as the first word, but there was no A in the letter set. Then, I tried GIN (I know, I know, what does that have to do with wine?) but no success. My next try was to end the answer with INGS but could not come up with a sensible answer. I tried TOP for the first word – no luck. Finally, it occurred to me that the first word could be POUR. I tried to end with INGS but that didn’t help. At this point, I figured that the answer could end in IONS. So, — “POUR–IONS”. That led to “POUR-TIONS”. It was clear at this point that BIG was the first word. The pun then dawned on me. Took me 2 minutes 41 second. Glad I stuck with it. On the online image, the words “BIG GIRL BISTRO” were illegible, but I don’t think I would have got the answer any sooner even if I could read them.

  3. 3 unclerave June 23, 2016 at 10:04 am

    Big numbers for yesterday’s Jumble, guys! Over 5100 total views, and the most searched on word was TUSHIA. Maybe Vijay should offer his tough words list for sale to the general public! Hey, just because I’m going broke, doing this blog, doesn’t mean I begrudge someone else making a buck!

    — YUR

  4. 4 vnatraj1 June 23, 2016 at 12:21 pm

    Absolutely, UR, and I will give them out free. 🙂

  5. 5 Dee June 26, 2016 at 12:18 am

    You rock! I solved the first two like you but had to cheat on 3 & 4. You’re right….it was a tricky one.

  6. 6 vnatraj1 June 27, 2016 at 12:17 pm

    Seriously … I am happy to give out my tough word lists. Not sure what the best way to do that is. Send it to UR and he can put it up on his blog?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,541 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog

Blog Stats

  • 4,686,728 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


