Jumble Spoiler – 05/11/16

English: 'Composition in bleu, green, red and ...

English: ‘Composition in bleu, green, red and yellow’ by Mother Nature herself (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  Busy as a bee!

NYDIW  =  WINDY,  LOAAK  =  KOALA,  DOSMET  =  MODEST,  TRYEAR  =  ARTERY   —   Giving us:  WDOLOSTTE

Clue/Question:  Mother Nature was often busy on clear, damp mornings, because she had – – –

Mother Nature

Mother Nature (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  LOTS TO DEW

English: Screenshot from the trailer for the f...

English: Screenshot from the trailer for the film Mary Poppins (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(Cute pun!  All of today’s clue words are old favorites again.  But, all of the jumbles are coming up as new.  At first, I tried to make RARETY a word.  I think it’s because of the word RAREFY.  Why wouldn’t it be RARIFY???  When I saw I had an extra R, and was lacking a T, I came back and saw my mistake.  The answer letter layout was another great jumble.  The quotation marks in the answer grid, and the leading nature of the clue/question, made this a fairly easy solve for me.  It looks like Jeff’s Mother Nature has a little Mary Poppins in her!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


9 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 05/11/16”


  1. 1 vnatraj1 May 11, 2016 at 12:26 pm

    Very nice pun, indeed! It was a tough day for me. WINDY was the only word I got right away. I had to think a second for KOALA and MODEST. Interesting that I also typed in RARETY at first (using the same RAREFY analogy). When it didn’t fit, I realized quickly that it should be ARTERY. This is in my “tougher words” list, and has been for a long time. I keep having trouble with it.

    For the final answer, I thought that the last two words were TO “WET”, but then the first word had to be SOLD, which did not make sense (I thought that the answer was LOTS TO “WET”, but we had a D and not a second T. For some reason, I was adamant that the last word had to be WET, and this led me nowhere. Finally, I decided that the first two words should be LOTS TO, and then the pun dawned on me. Nothing wrong with the clue or the cartoon. I was just slow on the uptake.

  2. 2 unclerave May 11, 2016 at 12:58 pm

    No shame, Vijay. As they say: “Sometimes you’re the windscreen . . . sometimes you’re the bug!” (I think it’s a British expression. I know it from a Dire Straits song.) — YUR

  3. 3 vnatraj1 May 11, 2016 at 1:18 pm

    Thanks, UR. It’s true – we have good and bad days. This month has had a higher than normal share of the latter.

  4. 4 haliburton76 May 11, 2016 at 3:14 pm

    Great double pun today, with both LOTS (plenty / tracts of land) and DEW (do) having dual meanings. Mother nature looks like half Mary Poppins (hat and jacket) and half Glinda the Good Witch (fluffy hoop skirt). Not sure I get Ms. Barney’s poetic quote either, UR, but I love the foundation ad supplied by WordPress. “Holds up the weak, holds in the strong.”

  5. 5 David L. Hoyt May 11, 2016 at 7:53 pm

    Nice catch on the double pun today. I was wondering how many people would spot that. I love it when it’s a double pun like today’s. Hard to come up with those, but I sure love it when I can.

  6. 6 Damidwesterner May 11, 2016 at 10:26 pm

    Another good one today. I immediately got the ‘TO DEW’ part. At first I thought the first word was WORK, but didn’t have another ‘W’. Then I figured it was LOTS.

  7. 7 vnatraj1 May 12, 2016 at 11:40 am

    I didn’t catch the double pun, but now that I know, GREAT job David!

  8. 8 MonaG (@Kulmona) May 12, 2016 at 3:21 pm

    Today was definitely much tougher than usual! It took me a very long time to get KOALA. Though I got ARTERY, WINDY and MODEST instantly and The pun was easy for me to solve.

    P.S AWESOME double pun, David! 🙂

  9. 9 unclerave May 12, 2016 at 7:28 pm

    You’re almost caught up, Mona! Very nice! — YUR


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,549 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog

Blog Stats

  • 4,754,853 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


