Jumble (Classic) Spoiler 04/21/16

Português do Brasil: Foto do pão ciabatta.

Português do Brasil: Foto do pão ciabatta. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  Bread dough for nothin’, and your ciabatta for free.

VITDO  =  DIVOT,  UPCAN  =  UNCAP,  CAROFT  =  FACTOR,  TENLGE  =  GENTLE   —   Giving us:  INAFOGL

Clue/Question:  New at the bread company, he was often caught – – –

A half-sized Ciabatta

A half-sized Ciabatta (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  LOAFING

(From the Jumble Archives!!!  Okay.  I think we all can agree that  anyone who has been doing the Jumble, for a minimum of five years, has probably seen this gag before, in one form or another.  It’s a good gag though.  I have no complaints.  Well, I do have one, but it’s not about the overall Jumble.  It’s the clue word “uncap”.  All the “un” words are a little cheap, in my opinion.  They’re like adding an S to a word, or a D for a word that normally ends in E.  And, since I don’t like ’em, I don’t look for ’em!  I really liked the jumble for “factor” though.  It took a few seconds to get that.  None of the clue words are new, but all of the jumbles came up as new.  The answer letter layout was not obvious, at all.  But, the answer itself was very apparent.  Cute cartoon.  I like the slacker’s hairnet hanging from the bread rack.  And of course the kid is putzing around with his cell phone!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


3 Responses to “Jumble (Classic) Spoiler 04/21/16”


  1. 1 Damidwesterner April 21, 2016 at 10:24 pm

    Well, U isn’t all that common a letter and I wouldn’t think there are that many combos that a U can be found. I always try the UN or UP (or even UR!) when I see a U in the word. OU is a combo I see in my reply here.

  2. 2 unclerave April 22, 2016 at 10:21 am

    You’re right, Damid. It’s just one of my pet peeves. I’m probably better with UP than UN words. You caught yourself, as I was going to mention that we recently had POUNCE, which might be why I didn’t see UNCAP right away. — YUR

  3. 3 vnatraj1 April 22, 2016 at 2:34 pm

    Took me a while to get UNCAP as well. FACTOR wasn’t automatic but only took me maybe a second or two. The final answer was nice. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,542 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog

Blog Stats

  • 4,675,485 hits

Recent Comments

unclerave on Jumble Spoiler – 06…
Jim Home Dot on Jumble Spoiler – 06…
unclerave on Cryptoquote Spoiler –…
Aston Nairne on Cryptoquote Spoiler –…
unclerave on Cryptoquote Spoiler –…

Member of The Internet Defense League


