Jumble Spoiler – 02/22/16

Close up image of a peppercorn

Close up image of a peppercorn (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  Last will and testament.

RIYAN  =  RAINY,  SOTHI  =  HOIST,  SNURKH  =  SHRUNK,  PREPEP  =  PEPPER   —   Giving us:  RIHISHEP

Clue/Question:  When he inherited the blimp from his grandfather, he inherited an – – –

English: Created by: User:Fcb981

English: Created by: User:Fcb981 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  HEIRSHIP

(Great stinky pun to start the week!  I loved it.  We even have a new clue word today, in “pepper”.  Such a basic word.  You’d think it would have been used before now!  Someone send a telegram to ralis95.  NEW CLUE WORD FOR THE WORLD FAMOUS CLUE WORD DATABASE -(STOP)- WORD IS “PEPPER” -(STOP)-  WHO’D A THUNK IT -(STOP)- UNCLE RAVE  Three of the jumbles appear to be new as well.  We have seen “sothi” before, but I thought that was the best of the jumbles.  Beautiful answer letter layout.  And, a fine cartoon.  Did you catch Jeff’s bonus pun???  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


9 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 02/22/16”


  1. 1 vnatraj1 February 22, 2016 at 3:55 pm

    Had to think *just a little* for RAINY but the rest were instant. I somehow even saw the final answer right away. Nice pun to start the week! What’s the bonus pun you are talking about, UR?

  2. 2 unclerave February 22, 2016 at 9:00 pm

    When the “heir” says: It’s going to be a “good year”!!! Ever hear of the Goodyear blimp? LOL! — YUR

  3. 3 Damidwesterner February 22, 2016 at 11:35 pm

    RAINY was a problem for me, because in my mind, I pronounced it Ra-inny. Since that’s not a word, I kept blipping over it until I actually looked at it by itself.
    The cartoon was pretty good (year). 🙂

  4. 4 vnatraj1 February 23, 2016 at 12:45 am

    Ah! Nice! Didn’t notice that. Great catch, UR. 🙂

  5. 5 Joe Key February 23, 2016 at 10:51 am

    I had a bit of trouble with PEPPER and then when I got it I wondered why because I thought it was used just a little while back.

  6. 6 ralis95 February 23, 2016 at 11:41 am

    The clue words ending with “an” – lead me to think that the first word would start with a vowel. But alas, it was only a word that sounded like it started with a vowel. Hoyt did it to us again!

  7. 7 jenn February 23, 2016 at 9:15 pm

    Damid, re: ra-inny. …I do that as well, and often! It reminds me of when my daughter and I saw 2 words on a teens’s pair of shorts- the words were ‘char’ and ‘med’. I kept thinking ‘what the heck is a char-med??? Of course, it was actually the word ‘charmed’ split in two, one for each leg of the shorts! Sheesh. Keeps me humble! =)

  8. 8 Linda Tate February 26, 2016 at 10:42 am

    Oh Man! The boyz got me. I should have taken more time. Aaaaarg!

    At first I was looking for a word starting with a vowel. Nada, so I came up with HERI-SHIP. Close but NO cigar.. OY.

    Loved the Goodyear sidebar.

    Grand puzzler! And a lesson learned. LL

  9. 9 unclerave February 26, 2016 at 12:26 pm

    LindaLee,

    It looks like you and ralis95 both fell prey to Hoyt’s little set up! Maybe, because he used the word “inherited” (twice!) in the clue/question, you guys – mentally – veered from the word “heir”, figuring that it was just a little too close? I kind of expected to hear a complaint or two, from folks who like to call: Foul! But, I guess they decided to let it slide. But, this also shows that great Jumble minds think alike!

    — YUR


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,541 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  

Blog Stats

  • 4,686,687 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


