Jumble Spoiler – 01/14/16

An adult male chicken, the rooster has a promi...

An adult male chicken, the rooster has a prominent fleshy crest on his head called a comb and hanging flaps of skin on either side under his beak called wattles. Français : Un coq, mâle adulte entier de l’espèce Gallus gallus, possède un appendice charnu sur sa tête nommé crête et un sous chaque oeil nommé caroncule. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  A poultry Thelma & Louise?

CIYKP  =  PICKY,  NOYHE  =  HONEY,  CUTSAC  =  CACTUS,  CURDEE  =  REDUCE   —   Giving us:  PIKHONCCUECE

Clue/Question:  When the hen bought the new two-door sports car, she bought a – – –

FASA RENAULT A110

FASA RENAULT A110 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer:  CHICKEN COUPE

(I’ve always heard that very few things smell as bad as chicken . . . poop.  Well, this pun might give it a run for it’s money!  It was a stinker, alright.   None of the clue words were new, but two of the jumbles came up as new.  We’ve seen both “noyhe” and “curdee” before.  I did think that “cutsac” was a nifty jumble for cactus!  It took me a few seconds to figure that one out.  The answer letter layout looks alright, until you sound it out.  Switching the order of the clue words would have made for a more challenging jumble.  The cartoon is fun.  That rooster looks none too pleased that there’s no room for him.  He’s in a real fowl mood.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR


10 Responses to “Jumble Spoiler – 01/14/16”


  1. 1 vnatraj1 January 14, 2016 at 1:34 pm

    I had a fair bit of trouble with CACTUS today – must have taken me 10-15 seconds to figure it out. For the final answer, I initially thought CHICK was the second word but couldn’t get any sensible word from the remaining letters. Then I realized that the first word was CHICKEN and the remaining letters then gave me COUPE, after a few seconds of thought. Again, I figured out the pun after the fact. Need to do a better job of getting it before solving the jumble.

    Interesting that you mention sounding out the answer letter layout. That would have indeed helped solved the final answer quicker. Love *your* puns, btw, UR. 🙂

    – Vijay.

  2. 2 unclerave January 14, 2016 at 2:35 pm

    I sound out each and every jumble, Vijay. But, especially the answer letter layout. I think it helps. Glad you enjoy my little attempts at humor. Hey, did you look up my friend, Doug Smith???

    — YUR

  3. 3 vnatraj1 January 14, 2016 at 2:43 pm

    UR, I found out that Doug Smith is in charge of a magazine at Caltech. Am on travel this week – will look him up next week. How do you know Doug?

  4. 4 unclerave January 14, 2016 at 3:17 pm

    I used to torture Doug when we were roommates in college. When you get the chance to meet him, tell him “The Colonel” says Howdy!

    — YUR

  5. 5 vnatraj1 January 14, 2016 at 3:25 pm

    Hahaha, will do UR – and will get back to you with his reaction. 🙂

  6. 6 Damidwesterner January 15, 2016 at 12:27 am

    Well, this one was easy for me. Got the first two words quickly, put the puzzle aside to do something else (I print it out to do as it doesn’t appear in my local paper), got the last two words just as quickly, and got COUPE right off. I think the quotation marks got me thinking a punny word with the coop in the background. CHICKEN came quickly; didn’t even bother to tick off the letters to see if it fit. 15secs at most for this puzzle today? 🙂

  7. 7 vnatraj1 January 15, 2016 at 11:01 am

    Damidwesterner, if you don’t get the jumble in your newspaper, you can solve it online here:

    https://www.uclick.com/puzzles/tmjmf/jumble_online_1.swf?dt=160115

    This websites automatically times it for you as well.

  8. 8 unclerave January 15, 2016 at 11:55 am

    Vijay,

    Most of the readers are already aware of the uclick.com version, but they prefer solving it on paper. Many of them go to the Arkansas Online website to do so. Their Games page has the Sudoku, The Jumble, The Cryptoquote, and two different crossword puzzles, among other games. It’s a nice one stop shopping source for games. Many of our readers like doing the Cryptoquote as well, and that is something you really need to have in some kind of print form. At least I’ve never seen one that could be solved online. If you crave a little variety you can go there. The address is: http://www.arkansasonline.com/games/

    — YUR 🙂

  9. 9 Damidwesterner January 16, 2016 at 12:37 am

    Yeah, I’ve seen the uclick version. I print mine out from the paper where my folks lived and where I worked the puzzles when I go out there to visit. I get an online view and get a PDF crop.
    I’ll have to check out the arkansasonline site…..

  10. 10 unclerave January 16, 2016 at 12:22 pm

    I can get mine from my local paper, if weather, or something, prevents the physical delivery. When I’m at home it comes right up, if I click from my daily email link. When I’m away it always asks me for my ID and password, which, of course, I can never remember. So, my fallback is the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette website My mother’s paper has the Jumble, but not the Cryptoquote, so I always go to Arkansas Online and print it out. The Cryptoquote is almost always a little more difficult than the Jumble, and deciphering the quote is always rewarding! For those that do so many things on their hand held devices the uclick site is probably the most convenient.

    — YUR


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,500 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog

Blog Stats

  • 4,431,930 hits

Member of The Internet Defense League


