(Tough) Sunday Jumble Spoiler – 02/09/14


Martel and van Over have friends for dinner an...

Martel and van Over have friends for dinner and often cook in a fireplace and outdoor wood fired oven. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  Chim Chimney rain delay.

JADINO  =  ADJOIN,  SEBTAK  =  BASKET,  WANDOR  =  ONWARD,  PEMIED  =  IMPEDE,  GAUTOE  =  OUTAGE,  SLURPA  =  PULSAR   —   Giving us:  AINAETORDMPUTP

Clue/Question:  Construction on the fireplace was postponed when the rain – - -

Fireplace

Fireplace (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Answer: PUT A DAMPER ON IT

 

Vivian & Chimney - 8/4/07

Vivian & Chimney – 8/4/07 (Photo credit: Rob Boudon)

(WOW!  Five out of the six clue words were new jumbles for me!  No new clue words, but I guess you’d have to say that “pulsar” is the newest, based on comparing my last soft copy of the ralis95 clue word database to the hard copy one he sent me, not too long ago.  I had to back into “pulsar”.  Even with figuring out the answer, I still had difficulty coming up with the word.  Four out of the six clue words begin with a vowel, and that always presents a problem for some of you.  The answer letter layout was great, but I would have swapped “outage” and “impede”.  It’s a nice, long answer, using a phrase that some of the younger readers might not be too familiar with.  The clue/question was a little funny, because the fireplace is the opening portion of a chimney, usually found inside, but I thought it still worked.  The cartoon got the message across.  Be well and do good, friends.  Enjoy the Sochi Olympics!)   —   YUR

rain delay outfit

rain delay outfit (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

1 Response to “(Tough) Sunday Jumble Spoiler – 02/09/14”


  1. 1 LindaLee February 10, 2014 at 9:59 pm

    Beautiful fire Unc! I had seen my e-mail earlier and saw your “Tough Sunday Jumble Spoiler” subject. Now, mind you, I’m always intimidated when I start a puzzle. Just am. And when I saw “Tough,” I thought I was doomed. However, by turning all of the words around immediately I got them rather quickly. Didn’t take too long on pulsar either…although for some reason I thought it was a brand name and ignored it for a few minutes. Knew “a” was part of the answer, saw put (then literally saw it in the answer letter layout) and bingo, the answer jumped into my head. YEA!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,191 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog
February 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Blog Stats

  • 1,830,541 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,191 other followers

