Sunday Jumble Spoiler – 01/19/14


Examination of a Witch by T. H. Matteson, insp...

Examination of a Witch by T. H. Matteson, inspired by the Salem witch trials (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  Confusing and chaotic conjuring class.

RUTPIN  =  TURNIP,  CALJAK  =  JACKAL,  DULSEG  =  SLUDGE,  GOMSYG  =  SMOGGY,  CALDIP  =  PLACID,  SPYELE  =  SLEEPY   —   Giving us:  TNIKASESMGPLISLE

Clue/Question:  The witch failed her exam because she had too many – - -

CD506 Witchcraft on Final Approach

CD506 Witchcraft on Final Approach (Photo credit: listentoreason)

Answer:  SPELLING MISTAKES

(I liked it!  And, I hope I don’t have to explain it.  All the clue words were old friends, but they were all jumbled expertly.  I always have a little trouble getting “turnip”, and I almost had to back into “sleepy”.  And, I just love the word “placid”.  It’s right up there with halcyon.  The answer letter layout definitely did not give anything away.  And, Jeff’s detailed cartoon is both humorous and descriptive.  A great Sunday Jumble.  I feel sorry for those of you who either don’t get the Sunday paper, or your Sunday newspaper does not carry the Sunday Jumble.  For the formers, I’d say that the Sunday Jumble alone is worth the price of the paper.  For the laters, I’d look into the possibility of subscribing to another newspaper.  If that’s not possible, than just write to your paper and voice your wants/complaints.  Newspapers cannot afford to lose customers these days.  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

Enhanced by Zemanta

3 Responses to “Sunday Jumble Spoiler – 01/19/14”


  1. 1 LEBJUM FEJF January 19, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    Sunday Jumbles are my favorite to draw. You’d be amazed at how that little bit of extra space inspires me. I’m drawing one right now. A Jeff and David one. Those are always fun!

  2. 2 LindaLee January 19, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    Great puzzler. Although I got the clue words rather quickly (we’ll, didn’t take me all day), they were jumbled very well and I was surprised I figured it out as quickly as I did. I had to think about the answer–knew spell was in there somewhere, somehow, but took a few to figure out!

  3. 3 patrick davis January 20, 2014 at 5:33 am

    leave it unspoiled !


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,194 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog

Blog Stats

  • 1,843,313 hits

Recent Comments

jknurek on Jumble Spoiler – 04…
Art Shapiro on Cryptoquote Spoiler –…
unclerave on Jumble Spoiler – 04…
unclerave on Cryptoquote Spoiler –…
haliburton76 on Jumble Spoiler – 04…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,194 other followers

