Sunday Jumble Spoiler – 03/10/13


English: Ad for James Mann, taxidermist; Theat...

English: Ad for James Mann, taxidermist; Theatre Alley, Boston MA (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Visual Description:  Capitalism on parade.

TANVIE  =  NATIVE,  FOCIAS  =  FIASCO,  LEFWOL  =  FELLOW,  TEPTIE  =  PETITE,  OICCIN  =  ICONIC,  OMAUFS  =  FAMOUS   —   Giving us:  NTIISOFEPTTCIFMO

Clue/Question:  The new taxidermist moving to town gave the old taxidermist . . .

Answer:  STIFF COMPETITION

(Not as many of you do the Sunday Jumble, but I’m sure a good number of you struggled some with this one.  I wouldn’t be surprised if this pun hasn’t been used in an earlier Jumble, except with undertakers!  Same concept.  Great clue word jumbling today!  I struggled to get “fiasco”.  I think I’ve struggled with other jumblings of this word in the past, as well.  I really like the jumbling of “petite” and “famous” too.  And, it looks like “native” is going to be a new addition to the ralis95 clue word database.  I thought the answer letter layout was masterful.  A great all-around Jumble.

Check out the comment that our friend Jeff Knurek posted.  I thought I’d address it here, instead of replying to his comment, because only a certain number of comments show up.  I think there’s a way you can see more than the ones that are displayed, but that’s for the really ambitious blog readers.  Most of y’all are a li’l more casual.  Anywho, Jeff is broadening his horizons, and has recorded some music.  I took a listen, and it’s actually pretty good.  There’s a link to a website, where you can hear three or four of his songs, within the comment.  I normally don’t like to give out free plugs, but where else can a kid like this get the kind of exposure that Unclerave’s can provide?!!  Nowhere, baby!  Besides . . . the guy is almost family.  Right???  But, Jeffy.  Facebook?  I barely have enough time to post these spoilers these days.  I rarely have time to putz around on facebook.  You should see my email’s inbox.  It would take me days to clean that up.  But anyway . . . Check out Jeff’s comment and the link to his music.  You’ll be glad you did!  Be well and do good, friends.)   —   YUR

 

 


7 Responses to “Sunday Jumble Spoiler – 03/10/13”


  1. 1 LindaLee March 11, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    I actually got through this puzzle pretty quickly. Had to use a few of the tricks, but putting the letters in a circle helped to see all but iconic pretty quickly. That one did take a few. Was a bit overwhelmed when I saw all the letters for the answer, but somehow got competition right off!

  2. 2 Lesley March 15, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    Linda puts the letters in a circle? What’s that mean? I’m curious. Anyway, I carried this puzzle with me till Friday with some very frustrating moments. *Easy=ICONIC & FAMOUS *Hard=FELLOW & PETITE *Torture=NATIVE & FIASCO I finally gave up today after riding the bike at the gym for 30 minutes and staring at NATIVE and FIASCO with no luck. So I came to you, YUR! Pretty funny cartoon. I will check out Jeff’s music. Have a Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  3. 3 unclerave March 15, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    Makin’ up for lost time. Huh, kid? Don’t be a stranger, Les.

    — YUR

  4. 4 LindaLee March 16, 2013 at 9:12 am

    Lesley, when I was struggling with a puzzle on vacation last year, another guest at the Inn told me to circle the letters in the word. I was like, HUH? Just put all the letters in a word in a circle. E.g., with iconic, put the C at the top then come down with an I then, moving in a circle add the other letters. I was pretty skeptical, but that little trick has helped me with lots of jumbled words. Of course, it doesn’t always help. Sometimes I put all of the letters in a form like the game Boggle and see what word/words I can come up with. Hope that helps.

  5. 5 Lesley March 17, 2013 at 8:15 am

    Thanks, Linda, I will try that. I thought I knew most of the tricks! Ha!

  6. 6 Art Shapiro November 18, 2013 at 12:56 am

    I don’t get the Sunday, alas, but have always put the six-ers in a circle in a different order than they appear in the puzzle, assuming I don’t see the answer immediately. And if that doesn’t work, I’ll try a completely different order in a second circle. I’m envious of those who can instantly unscramble these words just by hearing the letters – not even written down. That’s a talent that completely eludes me.

    Art

  7. 7 LindaLee November 18, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    Hey Art. I know! Sometimes I can look at the jumbled letters and voila, see the word right away. Most of the time not. I keep a spiral notebook and pen handy at the table so I can work on my words. I’ve filled many notebooks through the years.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,191 other followers

addthis.com

Bookmark UncleRave's Weblog

Blog Stats

  • 1,830,718 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,191 other followers

